Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Latino American Studies Research Guide: Film

Contents

A compilation of films about Latinos in the U.S.  All films are located in the Digital and Multimedia Center (4 West) unless otherwise indicated.  Please share recommendations.

Latino American Cinema

Latino American cinema : an encyclopedia of movies, stars, concepts, and trends / Scott L. Baugh. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2012. 313pp. Cesar Chavez Collection (1 West) PN1995.9.L37 B38 2012 : This comprehensive encyclopedia on Latino actors, culture and themes in American cinema provides detailed entries on a wide variety of subjects relating to Latino influence on the silver screen. Subjects covered include movies, stars and organizations, and Latino film concepts, and entries include synopses and reference material. Numerous black and white photographs are included and additional sections provide information on online resources, Latino film research organizations, and media distributors.

Latino Hollywood screenplays collection, 1929-2000.

MSU Special Collections Remote large MSS 373    This collection of scripts, script drafts and script continuities contains 370 individual scripts from 268 film/television productions that contain Latino characters, and/or characters played by Latino actors, and/or are written or directed by Latino artists. Dating from 1929 to 2000, the collection explores the history of Latinos in American film. This includes Latino characters played by a variety of ethnicities. The practice of Anglo stars and actors of various ethnic backgrounds portraying Latino characters was common in early film and was still in vogue throughout the 1960s. It is possible, using this archive, to study the changing image and perception of the Latino culture throughout much of the 20th century.  19 boxes in all.  The material is stored offsite in Remote Storage. Please contact Special Collections 3 working days in advance if you wish to use it.

Latino/Mexican lobby card collection, 1937-1991

Latino/Mexican lobby card collection, 1937-1991.  Special Collections Manuscript Collection MSS 374 : The Latino/Mexican Lobby Card Collection is comprised of 177 color and black-and-white lobby cards promoting and advertising Mexican American and Latino films spanning the time period from 1937 to 1991. The  film topics include mystery, comedy, drama, western, and romance. Each title  includes several cards depicting variant action scenes from the film. Key Mexican American  and Latina actors in the collection include: Anthony Quinn, Raquel Welch and Rita Moreno. Other actors and directors of note are Antonio and Luis Aguilar, Lola Beltrán, Pedro Armendáriz, Flor Silvestre, Cornelio Reyna, Fernando Soler, Jose Ferrer and Emilio “El Indio” Fernandez. The Aguilar brothers, Armendáriz and Emilio Fernandez were popular stars at the height of Mexico’s Golden Age of cinema. Others Golden Age stars include Gloria Marin, Ramon Gay, comic actor “Tin Tan” (Germán Valdés), Marcelo Chávez, Libertad Lamarque, Sofia Álvarez, Luis and Antonio Aguilar, Ana Bertha Lepe, Mapy Cortés, Andrés Soler, and Lilia Prado. A rare lobby card includes actress Rosaura Revueltas in a supporting role for the movie Lo Mejor de Teresa (1976, sheet #51).  The material is stored offsite in Remote Storage. Please contact Special Collections 3 working days in advance if you wish to use it.

Selected Films, A-G

14: Dred Scott, Wong Kim Ark and Vanessa LopezGraham Street Productions, 2014.  [San Francisco, California, USA] : Kanopy Streaming, 2016.  Streaming video file from Kanopy (Lease). : 14: Dred Scott, Wong Kim Ark and Vanessa Lopez explores the recurring question about who has the right to be an American citizen. 14 examines the citizenship clause of the 14th Amendment through compelling personal stories and expertly-told history. Under the Fourteenth Amendment, All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the State wherein they reside. The story is told through the lives of three ordinary and extraordinary American families who changed history by their courageous challenges to the powerful status quo - Dred and Harriet Scott, Wong Kim Ark and Rosario and Vanessa Lopez. Descendants of Dred and Harriet Scott and those of Wong Kim Ark tell the stories of how their ancestors fought all the way to the Supreme Court and changed American history. Rosario Lopez and her daughter Vanessa are both activists in the immigrant rights youth movement. Born in the United States and a citizen under the 14th Amendment, Vanessa wants to be either an artist, a photographer, a lawyer, or a marine biologist and President of the United States. It is the citizenship of millions of children like Vanessa Lopez, born in the United States to undocumented parents, that is at stake now.

America By the Numbers / with Maria Hinojosa ; series producer, Charlotte Mangin ; produced by the Futuro Media Group in association with WGBH for PBS.  [Arlington, Va.] : PBS Distribution, [2014]  2 videodiscs (approximately 240 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.  E184.A1 A498 2014 VideoDVD  :  This series explores the impact of the growing number of Asians, Latinos, African Americans, persons of mixed race, immigrants, women, youth and LGBTs whose influence over culture, commerce and the outcome of elections is affecting every aspect of the life in America.

La Americana / People's Television presents ; by director Nicholas Bruckman ; co-director, John Mattiuzzi ; co-producer, Jesse Thomas ; directed and produced by Nicholas Bruckman.   New York : Cinama Guild, 2009.  1 DVD-R videodisc (65 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  JV7048.A3 A64 2009 VideoDVD : When nine-year-old Carla suffers a life-threatening accident, her mother, Carmen, must leave her behind and make the dangerous and illegal journey from Bolivia to the U.S., where she hopes to earn enough to save her daughter’s life. Working in New York to support Carla’s medical needs, Carmen struggles in vain to legalize her immigration status, and wrestles with the prospect of never seeing her daughter again. Then, after six years of separation, Congress proposes “amnesty” legislation that could allow Carmen and Carla to be reunited at last....An intimate and heartbreaking story, La Americana shows how immigration policy affects families on both sides of the border, putting a human face on this timely and controversial issue. Winner of multiple awards at film festivals across the country, La Americana is now being used as the centerpiece for a nationwide campaign to engage and inspire audiences to dialogue about immigrants’ rights and immigration reform....Filmed across three countries in a captivating cinematic narrative, La Americana is Carmen's story, and the story of millions of illegal immigrants who make the difficult decision to leave their families behind to pursue the elusive American dream.

Bella / Roadside Attractions ; The One Media ; MPower Pictures ; Metanoia Films presents ; written by Alejandro Monteverde, Patrick Million and Leo Severino ; produced by Eduardo Verástegui [and others] ; directed by Alejandro Monteverde.  Santa Monica, Calif. : Lionsgate, [2008]  1 DVD videodisc (approximately 91 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.  PN1995.9.S67 B3553 2008 VideoDVD (Also available via ROVI Movie Collection) : An international soccer star is on his way to sign a multimillion dollar contract when a series of events unfold that brings his career to an abrupt end. A beautiful waitress, struggling to make it in New York City, discovers something about herself that she's unprepared for. In one irreversible moment, their lives are turned upside down-- until a simple gesture of kindness brings them both together, turning an ordinary day into an unforgettable experience.

A Better Life / produced by Jami Gertz ... [et al.] ; screenplay by Eric Eason ; directed by Chris Weitz. Santa Monica, CA : Summit Entertainment, 2011. 1 DVD videodisc (97 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.F35 B488 2011 VideoDVD : Chris Weitz has come a long way since he unofficially codirected American Pie with his brother Paul in 1999. Having pulled out of the raunchy teen comedy genre in pretty short order, he's been a reliable craftsman of interesting work that includes About a Boy, The Golden Compass, and New Moon. With A Better Life, Weitz makes another shift of gears to the indie front. Here he tells the heartbreaking yet gently observed story of a Mexican man living illegally in Los Angeles with his teenage son while trying to scrape out a literal embodiment of the movie's title for them both. A Better Life uses a quiet and methodical narrative structure to portray a few days in the life of Carlos, a man who truly believes in the opportunity he can create by working hard and following the moral character running deep within him--if not for himself, then certainly for his son Luis. He's hooked up with a friend who owns a pickup truck, a few lawnmowers, and basic landscaping tools, and the two of them spend long days manicuring the manses of greater Los Angeles. Carlos lives in a tiny house, barely scraping by and with his head always bowed against the threat of his illegal status. Sixteen-year-old Luis is a good kid, but on the at-risk side of falling in with a gang unless Carlos can instill the kind of principled existence he believes in, no matter how downtrodden they feel. When his boss offers to sell Carlos the truck and "the business," he agonizes over the risk, but gets a loan from his sister and beams at the prospect of finally making a move that may one day lead to the kind of success in America he envisions. But bad luck strikes early and often for Carlos. A large chunk of the film is devoted to his search to retrieve the stolen truck with the help of Luis, a sequence that captures all the despair, doggedness, and nuance of character that Carlos and Luis bring to bear on their struggle in life and their relationship with each other. The precise and tidy formal style of Carlos's journey and all the things and people he encounters become both expository and revelatory in bringing him to life as a dedicated man who won't give up no matter how difficult or even hopeless the effort may seem. Demián Bichir's performance as Carlos anchors this humble, melancholy, yet huge-hearted film about faith, optimism, and the promise of making life better for the most genuine of reasons.

Beyond the border = Más allá de la frontera / a co-production of Dos Vatos Production and KET ; produced in association with ITVS and Latino Public Broadcasting.  United States] : Dos Vatos Production, c2001.  1 DVD videodisc : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  F460.M5 B49 2001 : Traces the painful transition made by four sons in the Ayala family who leave their close-knit family in Mexico to seek a better life in Kentucky. Struggling to fit in, they find a different version of the American dream.

Blood in-- blood out  : bound by honor / produced by Taylor Hackford & Jerry Gershwin ; screenplay, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Jeremy Iacone, Floyd Mutrux ; directed by Taylor Hackford.  Burbank, CA : Hollywood Pictures Home Video, 2000.  1 DVD videodisc (190 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  PN1995.9.M49 B55 2000 VideoDVD : Three cousins in East LA find their power and strength in different avenues, but are held together by their strong family ties.

Border War  : the Battle Over Illegal Immigration / a Genius/Non-Fiction Films presentation a Citizens United/Peace River Company LLC production ; produced by Kevin Knoblock, David N. Bossie ; written and directed by Kevin Knoblock.  Santa Monica, CA : Genius Entertainment, c2006. 1 DVD videodisc (ca. 95 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. JV6456 .B67347 2006 VideoDVD  : The human and drug trafficking across the border between the United States and Mexico has been called the illegal immigration invasion. The lives of five individuals affected by the rise in illegal immigration are documented.

The bronze screen  : 100 years of the Latino image in Hollywood / Bronze Screen Productions in association with the Latino Entertainment Media Institute ; producer/director, Susan Racho, Nancy de Los Santos ; writer, Nancy de Los Santos, Susan Racho.  Chicago : Questar, c2002.  1 DVD videodisc (120 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.L37 B76 2002 : The Bronze screen honors the past, illuminates the present, and opens a window to the future of Latinos in motion pictures. From silent movies to urban gang films, stereotypes of the Greaser, the Lazy Mexican, the Latin lover and the Dark lady are examined. Rare and extensive footage traces the progression of this distorted screen image to the increased prominence of today's Latino actors, writers and directors.  Special features: Film trailers as tributes to three of the most influential and legendary Latino forces in Hollywood history: Anthony Quinn, Rita Hayworth, Rita Moreno.

The Caretaker and The Mayor : two short films on immigration / New Day Films ; directed by Theo Rigby ; produced by Kate McLean ; produced in association with Dogpatch Films ; Real Ideas Studios.  [New York] : New Day Films, [2014]  1 DVD (approximately 18 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.  JV6475 .C37 2014 VideoDVD : The Caretaker and The Mayor are two powerful short films that explore contemporary immigration issues in the U.S. through intimate portraits of relationships between recent immigrants, and those who came to the U.S. generations ago.  The short films are an invaluable tool for the classroom, providing a unique way to start difficult conversations through the power of documentary storytelling.  The two films come closed captions, Spanish subtitles, and a robust 60-page discussion guide to use in classrooms.  Trailer.

Carmen Lomas Garza : looking back / by Severo Perez.  New York, NY : Filmakers Library, 2009. 1 streaming video (37 min.) : Carmen Lomas Garza is a Chicana artist who creates images about the lives of Mexican Americans based on her memories and experiences growing  up in South Texas. In this charming film,  Carmen returns to Texas to revisit the people and places that inspired her work. Her award-winning books and art works have delighted children and adults alike. She has published many illustrated children's books; some are part of school curriculums in cities with large Latino populations. Her paintings have been featured in individual and group exhibitions and in such museums as the Whitney Museum of American  Art in N.Y.; the Hirshhorn Museum, Washington, D.C.; the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art, Kansas City, and the San Jose Museum of Art. Born in 1948 in Kingsville, Texas, she experienced significant racism growing  up, and was not allowed to speak Spanish in school. The roots of her artwork lay with her family traditions and in the Chicano Movement of the 1960s and 1970s. Since her parents were active politically, she followed in their footsteps by organizing Chicanos on her college
campus. She later wrote that this work nourished her goal of being an artist and gave her back her voice. Her artistic creations helped her "heal the wounds inflicted by discrimination and racism. I felt like I had to start with my earliest recollections of my life and validate each  event or incident by depicting it in a visual format."

Cesar's last fast / Monkey Mind Media production ; a film by Richard Ray Perez ; directed by Richard Ray Perez and Lorena Parlee ; written by Richard Ray Perez ; produced by Richard Ray Perez, Molly O' Brien, Lorena Parlee.  [Los Angeles, Calif.] : Monkey Mind Media, [2013].   1 DVD videodisc (approximately 98 minutes) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.  HD6509.C48 C4737 2013 VideoDVD : A documentary film about the private sacrifice and spiritual conviction behind Cesar Chavez's struggle for the humane treatment of America's farm workers, and the impact Chavez's legacy has on today's generation of organizers fighting for farm worker rights. The film is built around powerful, never-before-seen footage of Chavez's 1988 "Fast for Life," a 36-day act of penance for not having done enough to stop growers from spraying pesticides on farm workers."   More information and trailer

Chicano! : Michigan movement / produced by Toby Levine Communications [and] Delta College Broadcasting.  [Saginaw, Mich.] : Toby Levine Communications : Delta College Broadcasting, 1996.  1 VHS videocassette (55 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. F575.M5 C476 1996 : Studio discussion on the Chicano Movement from the 1960s to 1996 in Michigan. Discussants include Daniel G. Soza, Saginaw City Council member and former Brown Beret; Apaxu Maiz, lecturer and author; Johnny Rodriguez, Saginaw resident and former Brown Beret; and Mary Mendez-Medel, Saginaw school teacher and former Brown Beret. The discussion took place after the national broadcast of the "Chicano! History of the Mexican American civil rights movement" video series. Host: Rosa Morales.

Chicano!  : the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement / a co-production of Galan Productions, Inc. and the National Latino Communications Center, in association with KCET/Los Angeles.  2 DVD videodiscs (ca. 228 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in.  E184.M5 C4454 2007 : Land, labor, educational reform, and political empowerment are the four themes of this documentary regarding the Mexican American civil rights movement from 1965 to 1975.

The Chicano Wave.  Produced by British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) and WGBH Boston Video, in Latin Music U.S.A. (Public Broadcasting Service (PBS), 2009).   Streaming video from the PBS Video Collection. 54:51 mins.   : Latin Music USA highlights the great American music created by Latinos, and celebrates the Latin rhythms at the heart of jazz, rock, country, and rhythm and blues. It's a fresh take on American musical history, reaching across five decades to portray the rich mix of sounds created by Latinos and embraced by all. Narrated by Jimmy Smits

Children in No Man's Land  / [presented by] Impacto Films and Chicken & Egg Pictures ; a film by Anayansi Prado.  Los Angeles, CA : Impacto Films, c2008.  1 DVD videodisc (39 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. JV6465 .C45 2008 VideoDVD : A documentary that uncovers the current plight of the 100,000 unaccompanied minors entering the United States every year.  The film will give this timely political debate about the U.S.-Mexico border a human face by exploring the stories of Maria de Jesus (13) and her cousin Rene (12) as they attempt to cross the US/Mexico border alone to reunite with their mothers in the Midwest. Focusing on minors crossing through the Sonora Desert area in Nogales, Arizona, this film will explore every detail of these children's journey as well as the journeys of other children we meet on the way as we uncover in an intimate and personal way where they are coming from, what their journeys have been like and how they've gone about it, through to the arrival at their destination their new home, The United States of America.

A Class Apart  : a Mexican American civil rights story / a co-production of Camino Bluff Productions, Inc. and the Independent Television Service (ITVS), in association with Latino Public Broadcasting (LPB) for American experience ; American experience is a production of WGBH Boston ; senior producer, Sharon Grimberg ; written by Carlos Sandoval ; produced and directed by Carlos Sandoval and Peter Miller.  [New York,United States] : PBS Home Video, c2009.  1 DVD videodisc (60 min.) : sd., col. and b&w ; 4 3/4 in.  F395.M5 C53 2009 VideoDVD : In the small town of Edna, Texas, in 1951, field hand Pete Hernández killed a tenant farmer after exchanging words in a cantina. From this murder emerged a landmark civil rights case that would change the lives and legal standing of ten of millions of Americans. Tells the story of an underdog band of Mexican American lawyers who took their case all the way to the Supreme Court, where they challenged Jim Crow-style discrimination against Mexican Americans. Lawyers forged a daring legal strategy, arguing that Mexican Americans were "a class apart" from a legal system that recognized only blacks and whites.  cover.  Also available as streaming video from PBS Video Collection.

Crossing Arizona / directors, Joseph Mathew, Dan DeVivo ; producers, Dan DeVivo, Laurie MacMillan ; writer, Laurie MacMillan.  New York, NY : Cinema Guild, c2006.  1 DVD videodisc (77 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  E184.M5 C756 2006 VideoDVD  :  A Sundance festival favorite, Crossing Arizona shines needed illumination on the complicated and emotional debate over illegal immigration in the United States. Heightened security at the U.S./Mexico border has forced border crossers into the treacherous terrain of Arizona's brutal desert. The perilous journey, which can take up to four days, has caused a dramatic rise in the number of migrant deaths. Seen through the eyes of frustrated ranchers, border patrol agents, local politicians, farmers dependent on an illegal work force, humanitarian activists, desperate migrants, and the Minutemen who quickly became darlings of the national news media, this powerful documentary unveils the complicated dilemmas presented by the border crisis and the surprising political stances people take when immigration and border policy fails everyone.

De nadie = Border crossing  (2005) / Producciones Tranvía ; writers, Lizzette Arguello, Iliana Martínez ; director/producer, Tin Dirdamal ; co-producer, Jose Torres.  Van Nuys, CA : Amigo Films : Distributed by Laguna Films, [2007]  1 DVD videodisc (80 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  JV6456 .D4 2007 VideoDVD : Follow one man as he leaves behind everything in Central America. With little sense of direction and only his family's memories as company, he faces the dangers in Mexico and tries to cross into freedom and the United States.

Death on a Friendly Border   / A film by Rachel Antell.  2002.  26 minutes.  Streaming video from Filmakers Library : The border that runs between Tijuana and San Diego is the most heavily militarized border between "friendly" countries anywhere in the world. Since 1994 when the U.S. instituted Operation Gatekeeper, an average of one person a day has died crossing into the U.S. The policy has been condemned by the UN Commissioner of Human Rights, Human Rights Watch and Amnesty International....This poignant film puts a human face on a tragedy that occurs daily. First we visit a small village in Oaxaca where more than half the men have emigrated to the United States to send money home. From here we follow the story of one young woman who made the journey to follow her husband, but died of dehydration in the desert. Then the film goes to Tijuana where thousands of people have desperately attempted the crossing, only to be thrown back. We learn of the hardships imposed by heat and thirst and abusive border guards. Finally, we hear first hand from a border guard, a human rights activist, and a citizen who actually goes into the desert each weekend to provide water for the fugitives....This is a memorable portrait of people who risk everything to come to "the land of plenty" --- and often lose this gamble.

Down for life / Slate of Eight presents ; in association with 1211 Entertainment [and others] ; directed by Alan Jacobs ; written by Alan Jacobs & Trina Calderón ; produced by Scott William Alvarez.  [Hawthorne, Calif.] : Xenon Studios, [2012]  1 DVD videodisc (94 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.   PN1995.9.G29 D69 2012 VideoDVD : Based on an award-winning New York Times article, "Down for Life" depicts a single, fateful day in the life of a 15-year-old Latina gang leader in Watts, as she struggles to survive.... Encouraged by her English teacher to apply for a writing program in Iowa, Rascal hopes to use the material from her life to write her way out of Watts".

Echando Raices = Taking Root : Immigrant and Refugee Communities in California, Texas and Iowa / produced by the American Friends Service Committee ; producer, Rachael Kamal ; director/editor, J.T. Takagi. Philadelphia : American Friends Service Committee, c2002.  1 VHS videocassette (120 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. + 1 discussion guide (65 p. ; 28 cm.)  JV6465 .E34 2002 Videocassette : Discusses: the factors that bring immigrants to the U.S., beliefs and assumptions about immigrants, the systematic exploitation of immigrants, and what people can do to collectively work for social justice. Created as a resource for education and organizing, the film shares stories from some of the immigrant community organizations that work in partnership with the American Friends Service Committee.  Two identical one hour films, the first in English, the second in Spanish.

El Norte  / Directed by Gregory Nava.  Farmington Hills, Mich. : CBS/Fox Video, 1984.  1 VHS videocassette (Beta) (141 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. PN1997 .N667 1984 Videocassette : Beginning in the remote mountain jungles of Guatemala, awash with the lushness of nature and the rainbow colors of the Mayans, this highly-acclaimed drama about a brother and sister seeking a better life centers on two young Indians. When their father is killed by government soldiers and their mother taken away, they set out for the "promised land" to the north--El Norte.  Another film review.

Farmingville  / a film by Carlos Sandoval and Catherine Tambini ; directed by Catherine Tambini and Carlos Sandoval ; produced by Carlos Sandoval and Catherine Tambini ; written by Carlos Sandoval ; produced by Camino Bluff Productions, Inc.  [S.l.] : Docurama ; Distributed by New Video, c2004.  1 DVD videodisc (78 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.M49 F376 2004 VideoDVD : A documentary film which looks at the people of Farmingville, New York, and at how they are dealing with the influx of about 1,500 Mexican workers.

The fight in the fields  : Cesar Chavez and the farmwokers' struggle / Paradigm Productions Inc. in association with Independent Television Service ; directed by Ray Telles, Rick Tejada-Flores ; produced by Rick Tejada-Flores, Ray Telles. San Francisco, CA : Paradigm Productions, [1997]  1 VHS videocassette (115 min.) : sd., col. and b&w ; 1/2 in. + 1 study guide (63 p. : 30 cm.)  HD6509.C48 F54 1997 Videocassette : The story of Cesar Chavez, the charismatic founder of the United Farmworkers Union and the history and impact of the movement that he inspired. The heart of the UFW, Chavez remains the most important Latino  leader in this country's history. The activities he and his dedicated organizers led inspired the Chicano activism of the 1960's and '70's, helping to create a Latino civil rights movement. Film includes archival footage, newsreels and present-day interviews with activists, politicians and Chavez family members.

Geronimo : His Story / Flavyn Feller, Producer/Director.  1996.  26 minutes. Streaming video from Filmakers Library : Geronimo Mendoza Sanchez came to the United States in 1986 as an "illegal alien," not knowing a word of English. He worked by day and went to school by night, learned English, and sent money home to Mexico. Geronimo shares the same dreams and goals a many Mexicans have who come to the U.S....Geronimo: His Story is an intimate portrayal of what it's like to be an "illegal alien." It follows Geronimo, from his United States life in California to his ancestral home in central Mexico. His village, like hundreds in Mexico, is transforming due to the high rate of migration to the United States. Of the village's 1,500 people, aproximately half have left. Almost all have migrated to the same location, Santa Cruz, California....Geronimo is like many others in his town, with the exception that he is the only person from his village to seek a college education in the United States. His hope is that he will someday be equipped with the tools he needs to help his dying town. This documentary puts a human face on the border problem between the U.S. and Mexico.  Access available to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Girlfight / Screen Gems and the Independent Film Channel Productions present a Green/Renzi production ; a film by Karyn Kusama ; produced by Sarah Green, Martha Griffin, Maggie Renzi ; written & directed by Karyn Kusama.  Culver City, CA : Columbia/TriStar Home Entertainment, c2004. 1 DVD videodisc (110 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  PN1995.9.S67 G57 2004 VideoDVD : The story of a quick-tempered young woman who finds discipline, self-respect and love in the boxing ring.

Selected Films, H-L

Harvest of empire  : the untold story of Latinos in America / Onyx Films, EVS Communications and Loquito Productions present ; in association with Getzells Gordon Productions ; directed by Peter Getzels & Eduardo López ; produced by Wendy Thompson-Marquez & Eduardo López.  [Tampa, FL?] : Onyx Films ; [S.l.] : EVS Communications, c2012.  1 DVD videodisc (ca. 93 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequence ; 4 3/4 in.  E184.S75 H378 2012 VideoDVD : At a time of heated and divisive debate over immigration, Onyx Films is proud to present Harvest of Empire, a feature-length documentary that examines the direct connection between the long history of U.S. intervention in Latin America and the immigration crisis we face today....Based on the ground-breaking book by award-winning journalist Juan González, Harvest of Empire takes an unflinching look at the role that U.S. economic and military interests played in triggering an unprecedented wave of migration that is transforming our nation’s cultural and economic landscape.  Trailer.

Hispanic Americans  : one or many cultures? / Blue Pearl Entertainment ; M.G. Perin, Inc. ; executive producers, Radamés Soto, Richard Perin ; producers, Francisco Ramirez, Vanessa Cordova Corwin ; writers, Vanessa Cordova Corwin, Victor Pupo. Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c2002.  1 DVD videodisc (ca. 44 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in  E184.S75 H595172 2002  : Examines the differences and similarities between Hispanics in the United States. Three families are spotlighted; one Puerto Rican, one Mexican American and one Cuban American. Explores how they view themselves and how they view each other.

Hispanic Americans  : the second generation / hosted by actor Jimmy Smits.  Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 1998.  1 VHS  videocassette (44 min.) (VHS) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in. E184.S75 H594 Videocassette : Examines how the second generation Hispanics are adapting to American society, and how they are maintaining their Latino roots while assimilating into the American cultural mainstream. Explores how they view themselves and how they view each other.

Hispanics in the media / Executive producers, Radames Soto, Richard Perin ; producer, Francisco Ramirez.  Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c1998.  1 VHS videocassette (44 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.  P94.5.H58 H57 1998 Videocassette : Explores the current role of Hispanics in the media including interviews with Geraldo Rivera, Moctesuma Esparz, David Valdez, Rita Moreno, Elizabeth Peña, Jimmy Smits and Isiah Morales.

Hispanics  : the changing role of women / a production of Blue Pearl Entertainment with M.G. Perin.  Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, c1998.  1 VHS videocassette (ca. 44 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 1/2 in.  E184.S75 H595155 1998 Videocassette : In this program, several prominent Latina women, including author Isabel Allende, discuss their changing role within the context of Hispanic family values, male machismo, and the traditional role of females as the center of family and community life. Also examines the issue from the male perspective.  A segment from the television program: Hispanic Americans : the new frontier. c1995.

A History of Hispanic Achievement in America.  Streaming video from Ambrose Digital : A History of Hispanic Achievement in America" is a rich history that began 500 years ago when Christopher Columbus stepped ashore in the new world.

Immigrant nation!  : the battle for the dream / Clandestino Films presents ; directed & produced by Esaú Meléndez. [Chicago, Ill.] : Un Sueño Americano LLC ; [New York] : New Day Films, c2010.  1 DVD videodisc (96 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. JV6456 .M458 2010 VideoDVD : This is a documentary combining the story of activist Elvira Arellano with the larger story of the pro-immigrant movement that primarily began in Chicago. We begin with Elvira Arellano recounting her arrest by federal authorities at her home, an act that ignites her life of activism, She joins Centro Sin Fronteras, a community organization on the city's North Side. at the same time a political movement is rising in response to the House of Representatives' passing of HR4437, also known as the Sensen-brenner Bill. the punitive measures included in the bill, would turn undocumented immigrants and those helping them, into criminals."

Latino Americans : the 500-year legacy that shaped a nation / produced by Nina Alvarez, Adriana Bosch, Daniel McCabe, Cathleen O'Connell, Ray Telles, John Valadez ; directed by David Belton, Sonia Fritz. [Alexandria, Va.] : PBS Distribution, [2013].  2 DVD videodiscs (approximately 360 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in. E184.S75 L3556 2013 VideoDVD : The Latino Americans DVD: Latino Americans chronicles the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have for the past 500-plus years helped shape what is today the United States. It is a story of people, politics, and culture, intersecting with much that is central to the history of the United States while also going to places where standard U.S. histories do not tend to tread.

Latino Americans available as streaming video from Kanopy subscription.   The first major documentary series for television to chronicle the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have for the past 500-plus years helped shape what is today the United States and have become, with more than 50 million people, the largest minority group in the U.S.  The series chronicles Latinos in the United States from the 1500's to present day. It is a story of people, politics, and culture, intersecting with much that is central to the history of the United States while also going to places where standard U.S. histories do not tend to tread. Latino Americans relies on historical accounts and personal experiences to vividly tell the stories of early settlement, conquest and immigration; of tradition and reinvention; and of anguish and celebration, from the millions of people who come to the U.S. from Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, and countries in Central and South America.  Latino Americans is driven by the human dramas of individuals' struggles and triumphs, successes and disappointments, featuring interviews with close to 100 Latinos from the worlds of politics, business, military, academia, literature, and pop culture, as well as deeply personal portraits of Latinos who lived through key chapters in American history. Latino Americans is the story of the gradual construction of a new American identity that connects and empowers millions of people today.  Broken up into six parts:

Latino visions.  Harrington Park, NJ : Milestone Film & Video, [2009]  2 DVD-R videodiscs (148 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in.  PN1995.9.L37 L374 2009 VideoDVD : Three significant films featuring Latino characters. Ramona: A young girl growing up on her adoptive mother's ranch in California falls in love with the Indian, Alessandro; when she is denied permission to marry him, the two lovers elope, only to find a life of great hardship and unhappiness amidst the bigotry and greed of the white landowners. Big stakes: A fun ride across the plains of western cinema, which, for 1922, presents a complex look at Mexican and American stereotypes. And now, Miguel: A 12 year old boy has dreamed of visiting  the Sangre de Cristo Mountains since he was very little; this summer, he is going to work hard and pray until his father and grandfather realize that he is ready to take the trip with the rest of the older men; his prayers are granted when his older brother is drafter; his father needs an extra body and grudgingly allows Miguel to accompany them.

Life on the Line / by Cactus Media. 2008.  32 minutes.  Streaming video from the Filmakers Library : Every year thousands of migrants from Honduras, El Salvador and Guatemala leave their families and homes in Central America in their attempt to make a life for themselves in "El Norte" (the U.S.). Staking everything they own on a one-way trip to the promised land, they encounter police abuse, robbery, extortion, rape and even murder at the hands of Mexicans. Ironically, Mexicans face similar hardships when they try to enter the U.S. illegally. This powerful documentary tells the stories of the desperate Central American men, women and children who put their lives on the line for a dream they can never be sure to reach....As they journey north through Tabasco and Veracruz, traveling along the tracks of the train known as "The Beast,” these migrants are treated not as human beings but as a profitable industry. Cristina, a Honduran woman, had left her daughter behind in the hope of finding a job in the U.S. that would let her send money back to her family. She got stopped at the border, when Mexican authorities wouldn't let her leave until she could pay the "coyotes" (people smugglers). She finally made it to Houston, where she started working. Since the film was made, the trains leaving Chiapas for the north were suspended and thousands of migrants were stranded in Chiapas without food or money. Military forces and police dealt with the situation by means of massive deportations and human rights violations.  Access available to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Living in America: A Hundred Years Of Ybor City / Produced by Gayla Jamison.  1989.  54 minutes.  Streaming video from the Filmakers Library : This film celebrates the long and rich tradition of Latin culture in this country in its vivid portrayal of Ybor City, Florida. This multicultural community was founded in the 1880's, when Cuban, Spanish and Italian immigrants arrived to work in the thriving cigar factories. It flourished until World War II when the effects of assimilation, urban renewal and the decline in the cigar industry led to its demise....The film captures the colors, rhythms, and texture of this close-knit, ethnic enclave. Here people played dominoes over a cup of cafe con leche, socialized at the dance clubs, and took pride in a perfect, hand-rolled cigar. Although they experienced hard times and discrimination, they always had a protective community to fall back on. Access available to the MSU community and other subscribers.

Living the Dream—New Immigration Policies and The Experiences of Undocumented Latino Youth.  Tedx Talk by Maria Chavez published on Apr 21, 2015.  De-Americanization comes as a great cost to us all.  I was born and raised in Northern California. My father’s family and my mother’s family, both from Mexico, emigrated to the U.S. during the Bracero guest worker program. I am the eldest of four children and the first person in my family to have graduated from college earning a B.A. (cum laude) and an M.A. from California State University, Chico. I earned my Ph.D. in political science from Washington State University under the supervision of Professor Nicholas P. Lovrich. I am currently an Associate Professor of Political Science at Pacific Lutheran University specializing in American government, public policy, and race and politics. I am the author of Everyday Injustice: Latino Professionals and Racism (Rowman and Littlefield, Inc. 2011) and co-author of a new book Living the dream : new immigration policies and the lives of undocumented Latino youth (Paradigm Publishers, 2015).

The Longoria affair / written, directed and produced by John L. Valadez ; a co-production of John J. Valadez, WGBH/Boston and the Independent Television Service in association with Latino Public Broadcasting.  PBS, 2010.  1 DVD videodisc (52 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  F395.M5 L66 2010 VideoDVD : A documentary on the Mexican-American civil rights movement. The film tells the story of one key injustice, the refusal, by a small-town funeral home in Texas after World War II, to care for a dead soldier's body 'because the whites wouldn't like it,' and shows how the incident sparked outrage nationwide and contributed to the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

Los trabajadores  = The workers / produced, directed, edited by Heather Courtney.  [Hohokus, N.J.?] : New Day Films, [2003?]  1 videodisc (48 min.) : sd., col., with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in.  HD8081.H7 C687 2003 Video : "We build the buildings, we do the hardest jobs, and still they don't want us." These are the words of Juan Ignacio, a Nicaraguan laborer profiled in the documentary Los Trabajadores/ The Workers, winner of the International Documentary Association's David L. Wolper Student Achievement Award. Through the stories of two men, Ramon and Juan, and through the controversy surrounding the relocation of a day labor site from downtown to a residential neighborhood, Los Trabajadores/ The Workers examines the misperceptions and contradictions inherent in America's paradoxical history of both dependence on and abuse of immigrant labor. While socio-political and economic issues provide the much-needed context, the film's spine and focus are Ramon and Juan, as well as the day labor site where they wait for work, as we follow a year in all three lives. Through the story of the day labor site moving into a residential neighborhood, we learn about some of the obstacles faced by immigrants, including the misconceptions that can lead to discrimination. Through Ramon and Juan, the complexities of immigration and labor issues are given a rarely seen human quality. "I came here illegally and this is against the law of the United States," says Ramon, a Mexican father of two, "but it is not against my law, nor is it against the law of my family. Even if they're American, they can't tell me I can't work to support my family." Ramon, his family, Juan, and other immigrants help to humanize an issue that has been terribly dehumanized in the mainstream media.

Selected Films, M-Z

Maid in America  / Impacto Films presents ; produced by Kevin Leadingham ; produced & directed by Anayansi Prado.  New York, NY : Distributed by Women Make Movies, 2004.  1 DVD videodisc (57 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. HD6072.2.U6 L67 2004 VideoDVD : Examines the lives of three Latina immigrants working as nannies and housekeepers in Los Angeles, revealing the vital role Latina immigrants play in many American households. The issue of worker's rights is introduced in the film through Dynamic Workers, a collective of women who have formed their own business to provide job security and benefits, and Domestic Workers Association, a support organization providing information and advocacy.

Miles from the border  / Film by Ellen Frankenstein.  Harriman, NY : New Day Films, [2005?]  1 DVD videodisc (15 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  F869.L89 M554 2005 VideoDVD  : Manuela and Ben Aparicio, sister and brother, brought by their parents in search of a better future, arrived in the United States from a rural village in Mexico to an ethnically divided community in California. Twenty years later, they share their stories of dislocation and their determination to succeed. They sensitively portray their struggles to learn English, resist efforts to be pushed into vocational programs, go on to universities, and help other immigrants achieve and find balance in the changing demographics of American society. Their story of claiming a place poses critical questions about identity, adaptation and survival in a multicultural world.

My family  = Mi familia / Executive producers, Francis Ford Coppola ... [et al.], produced by Anna Thomas ; directed by Gregory Nava ; written by Gregory Nava & Anna Thomas.  [S.l.] : New Line Home Video : sold exclusively by Turner Home Entertainment, c1995.  1 VHS videocassette (127 min., 30 sec.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.  PN1997 .M925 1995 Videocassette :  powerful, three-generation epic saga of the Sanchez family as told by the eldest son. From the very beginnings of his father's adventurous journey from Mexico to California in the 1920s, to his brother Chucho's tragic rebellion of the 1950s, to the stark realities of modern day, the struggle to live the American dream is sometimes darkened but never diminished.

No más bebés = No more babies / Moon Canyon Films presents ; director/producer, Renee Tajima-Peña ; producer, Virginia Espino ; a co-production of Moon Canyon Films and the Independent Television Service (ITVS) in association with Latino Public Broadcasting (LPB) ; in association with Chicken & Egg Pictures. [Los Angeles, California] : Moon Canyon Films, [2015] 1 videodisc (80 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in. HV4989 .N63 2015 VideoDVD : The story of Mexican immigrant mothers who sued Los Angeles county doctors, the state, and the U.S. government after they were sterilized while giving birth during the 1970s. Led by an intrepid, 26-year-old Chicana lawyer and armed with hospital records secretly gathered by a whistle-blowing young doctor, the mothers faced public exposure and stood up to powerful institutions in the name of justice. Their landmark 1975 civil rights lawsuit, Madrigal v. Quilligan, asserted that a woman’s right to bear a child is guaranteed under the Supreme Court decision Roe v. Wade. For the first time they tell their stories in this poignant film about the role of Chicana activism in the fight for civil rights.

Please don't bury me alive = Por favor no me entieren vivo [Los Angeles, Calif.] : UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center, 2007, c1976.  1 DVD videodisc (81 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  F395.M5 P63 1976 VideoDVD : This independent film, a slice-of-barrio life that was shot and shown in South Texas, was the first Chicano feature film ever produced, and inspired an independent film movement in Mexico. Set in the barrios of San Antonio, Texas, this drama portrays the life of a typical Mexican American family from the early 1970s.

Roberto Clemente : Puerto Rican baseball great / produced and directed by Jerry Baber, Rhonda Fabian.  Bala Cynwyd, PA : Schlessinger Video Productions, [1995], ©1995.  1 videocassette (approximately 30 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences.  GV865.C45 R634 1995, Videocassette  1 videocassette, 1 box  :  A biography of the Hall of Fame baseball player from Puerto Rico.

Roberto Clemente  / written, directed and produced by Bernardo Ruiz ; a Quiet Pictures film for American Experience.  Boston : WGBH Educational Foundation ; [United States] : PBS Home Video [distributor], 2008.  1 electronic resource (54 min.)  ROVI Movie Collection CS8 D0096759 VideoDVD : Tells the story of an exceptional baseball player and committed humanitarian, who challenged racial discrimination to become baseball's first Latino superstar.  The film features interviews with David Maraniss, George F. Will, Clemente's wife Vera, Orlando Cepeda, and former teammates, to present an intimate revealing portrait of a man whose passion and grace made him a legend.

Sin nombre  / Focus Features presenta a Primary Productions/Canana producción ; producida por Amy Kaufman ; escrita y dirigida por Cary Joji Fukunaga.  California : Focus Features, 2009. 1 DVD videodisc (96 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. PN1995.9.F67 S563 2009 VideoDVD : Seeking the promise of America,a beautiful young woman, Sayra, joins her father on an odyssey to cross the gauntlet of the Latin American countryside. Along the way, she crosses paths with a teenaged Mexican gang member, El Casper, who is maneuvering to outrun his violent past. Together they have to rely on faith, trust and street smarts if they are to survive their increasingly perilous journey towards the hope of new lives.

Sin País  (Without Country) / a film by Theo Rigby.  [Harriman, NY] : [Distributed by] New Day Films, [2010] 1 DVD-R videodisc (20 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  MSU Schaeffer Law Library (Law College Clinics) VIDEO S : Sin País (Without Country) attempts to get beyond the partisan politics and mainstream media’s ‘talking point’ approach to immigration issues by exploring one family’s complex and emotional journey involving deportation....In 1992, Sam and Elida Mejia left Guatemala during a violent civil war and brought their one-year old son, Gilbert, to California.  The Mejia’s settled in the Bay Area, and for the past 17 years they have worked multiple jobs to support their family, paid their taxes, and saved enough to buy a home. They had two more children, Helen and Dulce, who are both U.S. citizens.  Two years ago, immigration agents stormed the Mejia’s house looking for someone who didn’t live there.  Sam, Elida, and Gilbert were all undocumented and became deeply entangled in the U.S. immigration system....Sin País begins two weeks before Sam and Elida’s scheduled deportation date. After a passionate fight to keep the family together, Sam and Elida are deported and take Dulce with them back to Guatemala....With intimate access and striking imagery, Sin País explores the complexities of the Mejia’s new reality of a separated family–parents without their children, and children without their parents.

The sixth section = La sexta sección / producer, director Alex Rivera ; co-producer, Bernardo Ruiz ; produced by Second Generation Media.  1 DVD videodisc (27 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  HD8081.M6 S58 2003 VideoDVD : "Follows the transnational organizing of a community of Mexican immigrants who live and work in upstate New York. The men profiled in the film form an organization devoted to raising money in the U.S. to rebuild their hometown in Mexico. In the process, they accomplish more than they expected: they find power".

Unnatural causes  : is inequality making us sick? / produced by California Newsreel ; in association with Vital Pictures ... [et al.] ; presented by National Minority Consortia ; series creator & executive producer, Larry Adelman.  [San Francisco, Calif.]  California Newsreel, c2008.  1 DVD videodisc (236 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  RA448.4 .U53 2008 VideoDVD : A four-hour documentary series arguing that "health and longevity are correlated with socioeconomic status, people of color face an additional health burden, and our health and well-being are tied to policies that promote economic and social justice. Each of the half-hour program segments, set in different racial/ethnic communities, provides a deeper exploration of the ways in which social conditions affect population health and how some communities are extending their lives be improving them....In sickness and in wealth: "What connections exist between healthy bodies, healthy bank accounts and skin color? Follow four individuals from different walks of life to see how their position in society, shaped by social policies and public priorities, affects their health....When the bough breaks: "African American infant mortality rates remain twice as high as for white Americans. African American mothers with college degrees or higher face the same risk of having low birth-weight babies as white women who haven't finished high school. How might the chronic stress of racism over the life course become embedded in our bodies and increase risks?...Becoming American: "Recent Mexican immigrants tend to be healthier than the average American. But those health advantages erode the longer they've been here. What causes health to worsen as immigrants become American? What can we all learn about improved well-being from new immigrant communities?"...Bad sugar: "O'odham Indians, living on reservations in southern Arizona, have perhaps the highest rate of Type 2 diabetes in the world. Some researchers see this as the literal 'embodiment' of decades of poverty, oppression, and loss. A new approach suggests that communities may regain control over their health if they can regain control over their futures....Place matters: "Increasingly, recent Southeast Asian immigrants, along with Latinos, are moving into long-neglected African American urban neighborhoods, and now their health is being eroded as a result. What policies and investment decisions create living environments that harm, or enhance, the health of residents? What actions can make a difference?" ...Collateral damage: "In the Marshall Islands, local populations have been displaced from their traditional way of life by the American military presence and globalization. Now they must contend with the worst of the 'developing' and industrialized worlds: infectious diseases such as tuberculosis due to crowded living conditions, and extreme poverty and chronic disease, stemming in part from the stress of dislocation and loss...Not just a paycheck: "Residents of Western Michigan struggle against depression, domestic violence and higher rates of heart disease and diabetes after the largest refrigerator factory in the country shuts down. Ironically, the plant is owned by a company in Sweden, where mass layoffs, far from devastating lives, are relatively benign because of government policies that protect and retrain worker.

Viva La Causa! : 500 years of Chicano History / a joint project of the Southwest Organizing Project and Collision Course Video Productions.  San Francisco, CA : Collision Course Video Productions, c1995.  2 VHS videocassettes (60 min.) : sd., col. and b&w ; 1/2 in.  E184.M5 V5 1995 Videocassette : An introduction to the history of the Mexican American people from their origins in Europe's invasion of the American continent up through World War II, through the Chicano Movement years to the present day. Includes archival footage and lively music ranging from corridos to rap.

A walk in the clouds /Twentieth Century Fox presents a Zucker Brothers production and Alfonso Arau film.  Beverly Hills, CA : Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, c2009.  1 DVD videodisc (102 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.  PQ4851.A9 W352 2009 VideoDVD :  After returning from World War II, a young G.I. (Keanu Reeves) finds he has little in common with the wife he left behind. Disillusioned, he heads north to work as a travelling salesman where he meets the daughter (Aitana Sanchez-Gijon) of a wealthy vineyard owner (Giancarlo Giannini). On her way home, she is unmarried and pregnant. The young man gallantly offers to help by posing as her husband for one night, unaware that doing so will change both of their lives forever.

Walking the Line / A film by Jeremy Levine and Landon Van Soest.  2006.  58 minutes.  Streaming video from the Filmakers Library : Walking the Line offers a harrowing view of the chaos, absurdity and senseless deaths of Mexican illegals along the U.S. - Mexico border because some American citizens are taking the law into their own hands. Southern Arizona, a region celebrated for its history of lawlessness, has become the most highly trafficked area for immigrants in the world -- and one of the most dangerous. A shift in the border policy forces migrants to cross the unforgiving desert where thousands die. Those who make it across face volatile, often armed, civilian militias. Standing in opposition to the vigilantes are humanitarians, organized to prevent migrant deaths. Confronting the growing crisis, they too find themselves on the wrong side of the law. A Tucson pastor is indicted on federal felony charges for aiding and abetting while a Native American faces banishment from his reservation for constructing water stations. Following rancher vigilantes with semiautomatic weapons, outlaw pastors with four-wheel drives, and impoverished immigrants armed only with dreams of a better life, the film explores the uncertain line between what is patriotic, what is moral, and what is just. Access available to the MSU community and other subscribers.

The Whole Enchilada / by Australian Broadcasting Corporation.  New York, NY : Filmakers Library, 2010.  26 minutes.  Streaming video from the Filmakers Library : In recent years over a million Latin Americans in search of a better life have surged into the U.S. -- conventionally and illegally. The U.S.  has undergone arguably the most dramatic demographic and cultural shifts in its history and Latinos are expected to emerge as a potential American majority by 2050. The Whole Enchilada details how this growth has resulted in acute growing pains: conservative commentators railing against porous borders and complaining about illegal Latinos taking jobs  away from Americans; an increase in hate crimes against Latinos, specifically in the infamous murder in Patchogue, N.Y.; extremely high unemployment in Latino communities; and young Hispanics joining gangs.The film also shows the increasing Latino vibrancy and optimism especially in Los Angeles where there is a new sense of empowerment. The L.A. City Councilman Tony Cardenas, touted as a  future political leader, the actress Lupe Ontiveros, Josefina Lopez, the screenwriter of Real Women Have Curves, now the director of a theatre company and TV anchor Geraldo Rivera are some of the people interviewed in this lively film.  Most dramatically, the recent appointment of the Supreme Court s first Hispanic justice, Sonia Maria Sotomayor, sent a powerful message of hope  and opportunity to the Latino community.

Xavier Viramontes, printmaker : a life in print / director, Michel Fraser ; producer, Michel Fraser, Steve Patapoff.  [United States] : Fraser + Films, c2008.  1 videodisc (56 min., 40 sec.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in.  N6538.H58 X38 2008 VideoDVD : "A profile of Xavier Viramontes, one of the most influential Hispanic artists of our time. His iconoclast silk screen poster, 'BOYCOTT GRAPES', for the United Farmworkers, awakened a nation and rallied the Chicano movement in art. A segment explores the rich history of Galería de la Raza, its origins and influence on the Chicano movement and the culture of San Francisco".

Yo soy  / directors, Jesús Salvador Treviño, Jose Luis Ruiz. New York, NY : Cinema Guild, 1985. 1 VHS videocassette (56 min.) : sd., col.  E185 .Y6 1985 Videocassette : Examines the key issues, problems, and concerns of the Mexican-American community in the United States, reviews the progress Chicanos have recently made in politics, education, labor, and economic development, and summarizes the ways they are responding to the challenges of the future.

Yo soy Boricua, pa'que tu lo sepas! = I'm Boricua, just so you know / IFC Originals presents a Moxie Firecracker Film in association with Ten in a Car Productions ; producer/writer, Roger Sherman ; producers, Liz Garbus & Rory Kennedy ; directed by Rosie Perez.   Santa Monica, CA : Genius Entertainment, [2007]  1 DVD videodisc (ca. 85 min.) : sd., col. with b&w sequences ; 4 3/4 in.  F1971 .Y6 2007 VideoDVD :  This film consists of two dynamics. First, Rosie and some of her same-age relatives visit the Island, discuss family history, attend the Puerto Rican Parade in New York, etc. Second, Jimmy Smits narrates important parts of Puerto Rican, including Nuyorican history, such as Taino culture, governmental sterilization, military exploitation of Vieques, etc.

Subject Guide

Jon Harrison's picture
Jon Harrison
Contact:
366 W. Circle Drive
E. Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0855
Website / Blog Page

Faculty Services

Video Digitization

Faculty may request hard copy videos be digitized for course distribution on D2L.

  1. Secure copyright permissions by submitting a request to the MSU Libraries Copyright Permissions Center.
  2. Contact Insructional Design and Development with your request.  They will need to see the copyright permission before digitizing.

Course Reserves

Faculty may place videos on course reserve.  This will keep videos intended for course use in the library for student viewing.  Faculty may be able to arrange special permission to check out the reserved video for a classroom showing by contacting the DMC.

 
 
Michigan State University