Skip to main content
Michigan State University

MSU Program in Public Health: Research Help

General guide for resources useful to the MSU Program in Public Health.

How the MSU Libraries Can Help You

The MSU Libraries Health Sciences Digital Library  is your portal to the vast amount of health information available at the MSU Libraries.

Your Research Partner

Abe Wheeler, Public Health Librarian

Email: awheeler@msu.edu
Phone: 517.884.0893

Accessing electronic resources

  • Full access to MSU Libraries electronic resources is available with your MSU netid and password.
  • If you encounter any technical problems when accessing MSU Libraries electronic resources (or with D2L), call the Distance Learning Services 24/7 Helpline at 1-800-500-1554.

Journal Articles

Start with PubMed anytime you need to locate an article.

Use the databases listed below to find citations (and sometimes, electronic full text) of journal articles. If you have any questions, or are hitting a wall with your research, please get in touch with me right away!

  • PubMed@MSU

    If you are looking for scholarly articles in Public Health, start with PubMed. The database covers almost all major journals in the field. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.

·           

Global Health is an international public health database that has comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it also focuses on the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

 

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (on EBSCO)

      This resource focuses on journal articles from Nursing, and Allied Health fields like Speech therapy, nutrition, physical therapy, etc.  A greatcresource to help supplement your Pubmed research.

 

            The major database for psychology research articles and a great resource for mental health topics and health seeking behaviors.

 

 

Locating Journals at MSU

To find a particular journal, enter the journal title into the search box of the Journal/Periodical Title Search

The results will show whether or not the library subscribes to the journal and has the issue that you need, in a print or digital format.

If the article you need is only available in print, you can have a copy emailed to you free through MSU's MARS system

If MSU does not subscribe to the journal you need, you can request a copy of the article through Inter-Library Loan

Health Sciences Librarian

Abraham Wheeler's picture
Abraham Wheeler
Contact:
MSU Libraries

366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D

East Lansing, MI 48824

517-884-0893
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Michigan State University