Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SW 905: Historical and Current Analysis of Social Work and Social Problems: Special Collections

MSU Special Collections

MSU Libraries Special Collections

Special Collections is located inside of the Main Library. Search within the Special Collections catalog, learn about the thematic collections, etc.

The Special Collections Website provides a search box for their collections:

There are certain rules, hours, and processes for accessing the materials in Special Collections.  You will need to register and request material through the MSU Special Collections Registration & Request System.  Materials must be viewed in the reading room and cannot be taken out of Special Collections.  Please see the Guide to Visiting Special Collections for further detail.  You can contact a Special Collections Librarian for more information on their holdings. 

 

Special Collections has the following collections:  

Africana                                                         Lesbian, Bisexual, Gay, & Transgender
Agriculture                                                    Literature
Book Arts                                                      Manuscripts & Archives
Changing Men                                              Natural History
Comic Art                                                      Popular Culture
Cookery & Food                                           Radicalism 
Ethnic Studies                                              Veterinary Medicine 
European History & Culture                        Zines
Fencing and Dueling

 

You can also browse the Artifacts in Special Collections LibGuide.

 

I have included some helpful areas for your research in the boxes below. 

Mental Health

Potential Search Terms:

  • Conseling
  • "Social Work"

Example source:

Native Americans

Potential Search Terms

  • "Native Americans"
  • "Indians of North America"
  • "Indians of North America" AND "Youth"

Example source:

Adoption

Potential Search Terms:

  • Adoption
  • Gay AND Adoption
  • Pregnancy

Example source:

Children

Potential Search Terms:

  • Children AND Drugs
  • "Abused Children"
  • "Juvenile Literature"

Example sources:

Rape/Sexual Assault

Potential Search Terms:

  • Rape OR "Sexual Assault"
  • Women AND Violence
  • "Family Violence" OR "Domestic Violence"
  • "Abused Women"

Example sources:

LGBTQ/Coming Out

Potential Search Terms:

  • "Coming out" AND Gay
  • Transgender
  • Queer
  • Lesbians AND Youth
  • Lesbians AND Teenagers
  • Lesbians AND Mothers

You can also browse the Transgender Voices LibGuide.

 

Example sources:

 

Aging

Potential Search Terms:

  • Aging
  • "Older Persons"

Example source:

Michigan State University