Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SW 905: Historical and Current Analysis of Social Work and Social Problems: Primary Source Databases

Thematic Primary Source Databases

The library has purchased a number of specialized databases with thematic collections of digitized primary source materials. A selection is listed here. For a complete, browse the E-Resources page for Primary Sources.

 

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories

Includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.

 

Finding Women's History Primary Sources - Selected Electronic Collections

A guide from Sharon Ladenson, our Gender Studies Librarian.

 

Archives Unbound Collections

Collections of archival materials include:

The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
The Black Liberation Army
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspaper
The Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment

Michigan State University