Skip to main content
Michigan State University

EGR 291 Section 1 - 'Engineering the Past, Present, and Future: Books

Finding Books In the MSU Libraries

What Can I Find in the Library Catalog?

Books and e-books, magazine and journal titles*, newspaper titles*, movies, government documents, MSU theses and dissertations, maps, music and audio recordings, music scores, and more...

Book Checked Out?

If the book you want is checked out or if the MSU Libraries do not own it, try searching MeLCat. It's free and fast! Or you can recall the book.

 

A Few Good Books

Examples of some print titles owned by the MSU Libraries.

Ancient Egyptian Materials and Technology edited by Paul Nicholson published in 2000.

Science and Civilisation in China by Joseph Needham

This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive overview of the history of science and technology in China and is located in the Main Library at the call number DS 721 .N39

The Timetables of Technology:  a chronology of the most important people and events in the history of technology by Brian Bunch and published in 1993.

This book is located in the Main Library at the call number T 5 .B73 1993.

 

The MSU Libraries also provide users with access to an increasingly large number of e-books.  Below are links to selected e-book collections:

Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contains digital versions of 150,000 works published or printed from 1701-1800 in England, and other English-speaking places around the world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies, and the early United States).
Look here to find full texts of primary source materials in history, geography, literature, language, religion, philosophy, social science, fine arts, music, architecture, medicine, science, technology, and law, as well as general reference works from the 18th century.
The database also includes works in other western European languages which were published or printed in England or other English-speaking places during this time.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)

Includes these Archives:

Archive 1: British Politics and Society
Archive 2: Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange
Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Proper Culture
Archive 4: European Literature, 1700-1840: The Corvey Collection
Archive 5: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
Archive 6: Photography: The World through the Lens, 1839-1939
Archive 7: Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
Archive 8: Women: Transnational Networks
Archive 9: Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II
Archive 10: Children's Literature and Childhood
Archive 11: Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
Archive 12: Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform

Knovel Life Sciences, Chemistry, Food Science & Metals/ Metallurgy Collection

Searchable, full-text handbooks and reference works in biochemistry, biology & biotechnology; chemistry & chemical engineering; food science; and metals & metallurgy.

SpringerLink

SpringerLink is the platform for European based publisher Springer. It provides online access to reference works and other e-books, in addition to their journals in the scientific, technical, and medical fields.

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University