Skip to main content
Michigan State University

EGR 291 Section 1 - 'Engineering the Past, Present, and Future: Indexes & Databases

General & History

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index   A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine  This database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.

Periodicals Index Online (Segments 1-22 and 27)   Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

Scopus

          

Google Scholar  Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. This tool searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

NOTE: Please keep in mind that Google Scholar does not index all available resources. You should go to Indexes specifically built for your subject/research area.

Engineering

Compendex  Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in all engineering discipline.

GeoRef   1785-
GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.

Subject Guide

Tom Volkening's picture
Tom Volkening
Contact:
MSU Libraries
366 W Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-432-1498
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University