Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SOC 499: Science, Sustainability, and Social Entrepreneurship: Scholarly Journal Articles

Subject Specific Article Databases

Subject-Specific Databases


Sociological Abstracts

  • Provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals; Draws information from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations


  • ABI/INFORM provides current news and scholarly journal articles in all aspects of business. Includes the full-text of the Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times. Also includes market, industry, and country research. Be sure to browse the featured page to learn more about what is available.

Business Source Complete 

  • Contains content from scholarly business journals, including the full text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment research reports, industry reports, market research, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

Environment Complete 

  • Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs.  The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals.
Social Science:

Social Sciences Full Text 

  • Coverage: 1983-present. Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed. EBSSCOhost platform.


Multidisciplinary Databases

  • Web of Science
    Searches across Social Sciences Citation Index, Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  • ProQuest (all databases)
    Searches across these and more: ABI/INFORM Complete (business literature), Alt-Press Watch, BioOne Abstracts & Indexes, EconLit, Gannett Newsstand, GeoRef, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, PAIS International (public policy), Pollution Abstracts, ProQuest Historical Newspapers,  PsycINFO (psychology), Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts
  • EBSCOHost (all databases)
    Click the box to SELECT ALL and then click Continue
    Or use the custom search box below for a pre-defined selection---
    Searches for scholarly journal articles across these databases: Agricola, Alternative Press Index, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Business Source Complete, Environment Complete, Family & Society Studies WorldWide, General Science Full Text, GreenFILE, International Political Science Abstracts, Left Index, Political Science Complete, Social Sciences Full Text, Social Work Abstracts, Urban Studies Abstracts.
  • Scopus
    A large multi-disciplinary database of scholarly peer-reviewed literature.
  • Google Scholar
    A free and popular database that provides a broad coverage of the scholarly literature across many different disciplines and sources. While useful, Google Scholar should never be the only database that you use for your research project because it does not index all available resources and lacks many advanced search options found in library databases (e.g., limit strictly to peer-reviewed journal articles).
    ***Click here for instructions on setting up MSU Library subscription access links.***
Michigan State University