Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HM 832: Research Resources

Journal Articles

Start with PubMed anytime you need to locate an article.

Use the databases listed below to find citations (and sometimes, electronic full text) of journal articles. If you have any questions, or are hitting a wall with your research, please get in touch with me right away!

  • PubMed@MSU

    If you are looking for scholarly articles in Public Health, start with PubMed. The database covers almost all major journals in the field. In order to access the fulltext articles provided by the MSU Libraries, it is important to access PubMed through the MSU Libraries. If located off-campus, you'll be prompted for your NetID and password.

·             Hot to get an article you found in pubmed  (Video tutorial)

  • Global Health

    Global Health is an international public health database that has comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it also focuses on the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

 

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (on EBSCO)

      This resource focuses on journal articles from Nursing, and Allied Health fields like Speech therapy, nutrition, physical therapy, etc.  A great    resource to help supplement your Pubmed research.

 

            The major database for psychology research articles and a great resource for mental health topics and health seeking behaviors.

Govermental and Academic Health Resources

Other Useful Research Tools

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)

            Searchable compilation of Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports, guidelines, and numeric public health data.

            Links to scientific data, surveillance, health statistics and laboratory information.

            Published weekly, statistical reports on specific diseases as reported by state and some at the city level.

 

Health People 2020

Healthy People 2020 is a 10 year road map to identify national health priorities.  It is also a great portal to health data and research on specific topics.

 Maternal and Child Health Library

The MCH Library is a virtual guide to maternal and child health information. It offers a combination of MCH information compiled by library staff and pathways to the best MCH information available on other Web sites, from organizations, and in libraries. 

Native Health Research Database

The Native Health Databases focuses on the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The databases provide information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

POPLINE

Covers articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues Maintained by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health and USAID.

Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence databases

Set of resources focusing on violence and violence prevention.  Searchable by literature, programs, evaluation tools, and other resources like videos and curricula materials.

Measure DHS

Data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 200 surveys in over 75 countries. Compiled by USAID.

Health Sciences Librarian

Abraham Wheeler's picture
Abraham Wheeler
Contact:
MSU Libraries

366 W. Circle Drive WG-1D

East Lansing, MI 48824

517-884-0893
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Michigan State University