Skip to main content
Michigan State University

SOC 375: Urban Sociology: Scholarly Journal Articles

Spring 2014

Article Databases/Indexes

Best Bets:

  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    Includes bibliographic records related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 45,000 records, selected from both scholarly journals and book chapters within the discipline.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from ove::'r 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

 

Other Helpful Article Databases:

Information in PAIS International and PAIS Archive covers topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Worldwide in geographic scope, PAIS International and PAIS Archive indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish that deal with public affairs.

 

A broad interdisciplinary journal index for international development, the Earth sciences, ecology, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, plus several thousand additional journal titles and books. GEOBASE contains over 1.4 million records from 1980 to present.

 

  • Environment Complete
    This new database indexes and provides full text to many magazines and journals of interest to Urban Planners. Its focus is environmental sciences and environmental policy.
 
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    The most comprehensive index to journal articles on architecture and design in the United States, including many not indexed by any other source. More than 700 scholarly, popular, professional, regional, and international journals are included to cover architectural design, history and practice, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design, city planning and more.

 

 

  • Historical Abstracts
    Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
 

Connecting to the Full Text of Articles

How can I access the full text of an article I see listed in an index (e.g. Sociological Abstracts)?

If the full-text of the article is not available in the index you used to locate the citation, use the "Find Text @ MSU" link to automatically search for the full-text.

If Find Text @ MSU does not automatically connect you to the full-text, do a journal/periodical title search in the library catalog to double-check our holdings (important: search on the title of the journal, not the title of the article).

If MSU does not subscribe to the journal in print or electronic, request the article through our ILL Services.

How do I find the full text if I just have an article citation?

Look up the title of the journal where the article is published in the library catalog.  Then, access the article via our print or electronic journal holdings.

For a complete step-by-step through the process go to the full tutorial on Locating a Known Journal Article from a Citation.

Michigan State University