Skip to main content
Michigan State University

BHEARD Research Guide : Post-Program Research

Freely accessible resources

Unfortunately, University Libraries' licensing agreements restrict access to faculty/staff and currently enrolled students, so alumni cannot access any licensed content (which includes online databases, electronic journals, newspapers, and e-books). You will need to utilize your home institution's library and/or rely on free resources such as those listed below. Publicly funded non-profit institutions in most low and middle income countries are eligible for free or low-cost access to peer-reviewed international scientific journals, books, and databases through a variety of programs (registration required):

TEEAL (The Essential Electronic Agricultural Library; a project of Cornell University's Mann Library)

AGORA (agriculture)

HINARI (medicine)

OARE (environment) 

ARDI (science & technology)  

 

Government Information/Statistical Sources

FDsys

A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government, including the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) and Federal Register. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

FedStats

Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies, including those related to food and agriculture

UNData

Single entry point to all United Nations statistical databases.

World Bank Open Data

Includes Health Nutrition and Population reports.

 

Full-text Article Resources

There are an increasing number of open-access journals these days, as well as individual articles that are publicly available due to government funding mandates.

PubMed Central

The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Gateway to free, full-text, scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.

ROAD, Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources

Provides a single access point to different types of online scholarly resources published worldwide and freely available. A service offered by the ISSN International Centre with the support of the Communication and Information Sector of UNESCO.

AgEcon Search

Full-text scholarly research in agricultual and applied economics, including sub-disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.

 

Article Indexes

Free resources for identifying citations to articles. Request articles through your corporate or local public library (a nominal fee may be required).

PubAg

A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.

Agris (Free FAO version)

Database produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, in cooperation with participating countries and international organizations. Covers all aspects of agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, the aquatic sciences and fisheries, and human nutrition.

PubMed

More than 20 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Google Scholar

A simple tool for conducting a broad search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. While you are a student at MSU, you will want to set up your Google Scholar Preferences in order to gain seamless access to MSU subscriptions.      

   

Subject Guide

Anita Ezzo's picture
Anita Ezzo
Contact:
Main Library
366 W. Circle Drive
Room E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
Website / Blog Page
Michigan State University