The Careers Collection
Note: Non-MSU affiliates may borrow materials from the Careers Collection by obtaining a Community Borrower card from the Circulation Desk in the Main Library.
The Career Collection is located in the Main Library on 1-East, just
south of the East Wing elevators. This collection contains the
most current books describing career opportunities in
various fields, as well as job hunting/interviewing and resume/cover
letter-writing guides. Because of the high demand for items in the
Career Collection, materials circulate for only 3 days.
The
Career Collection is small and can be easily browsed for resources on
a broad range of disciplines and professions. Included are
encyclopedic-type resources, covering a wide range of occupations, as
well as specific resources devoted to a particular career or field of
study.
To locate books on a particular career, do a keyword search in the library catalog. For example, to find career information related to nursing or accounting, conduct a keyword search as follows: "nursing and vocational guidance" or "accounting and vocational guidance".
To locate books on job hunting strategies and interviewing techniques search in the library catalog
under the subject headings "job hunting" and "employment interviewing."
The latest books will be found in the Career Collection in the call
number range HF 5382.7 - HF 5549.5.
Guides to writing effective resumes, curriculum vitae, and cover letters may be located by searching in the library catalog
under the subject headings "resumes employment" and "cover letters."
The latest guides will be found in the Career Collection under the
call number HF 5383.
Online Career Resources
- Occupational Outlook Handbook From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this handbook provides information about numerous career choices with detailed information on salaries, job duties, requirements, and expected job prospects.
- Glassdoor.com
Glassdoor.com gives you an inside look at company salary details, reviews, and interview questions for thousands of companies. - U.S. News & World Report: Best Careers Profiles of the 30 "best" careers that offer strong outlooks and high job satisfaction. Each career profile includes an overview, "day in the life," salary data, training requirements, and additional resources.
- Career OneStop
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this portal provides occupation and industry information, salary data, self-assessment tools, and career exploration assistance. Fulfilling its promise to be a one-stop shop, CareerOneStop includes links to state job banks, the online version of Occupational Outlook Handbook, and other useful resources. Click the blue 'i' icon for more information about this resource. - Keep Michigan Working Sponsored by the State of Michigan, this website provides job listings, job prospects by county, training resources, and the latest employment news.
- Career Management News The career site of the Wall Street Journal. Users can search for jobs and submit resumes; locate articles about resumes, cover letters, interviewing, entrepreneurship, and networking; and research salary negotiation.
- CollegeBoard.com: Majors and Careers Central
Provides job descriptions and requirements, employment outlook, and salary information for a variety of careers. - Hobson's CollegeView Offers information on career planning and searching, as well as tips on interviewing and resume writing. Information on careers can be browsed by broad category, or searched through the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
On-Campus Career Resources for MSU Students
- Career Services Network The Career Services Network is a seamless connection of career services professionals across campus offering a wide array of services such as: exploring major and career options, finding employment (on and off campus, part and full-time), getting an internship, writing a successful resume, and polishing your interviewing skills. Get more information or make an appointment at http://careernetwork.msu.edu/students/advising.
- Internships @State Student Toolkit
A toolkit for MSU students seeking either an on-campus or off-campus internship. - Career Passport: 2008-2009 Career Services Network’s informational guide for students.
- MSU Writing Center The MSU Writing Center offers one-to-one consulting and workshops to help MSU students write resumes, cover letters, and CV's. Make an appointment using the online reservation system.
- State of the Job Market 2009: MSU News from Impact 89FM
Kelley Bishop, executive director of Career Services, assesses the state of the job market for 2009 college graduates.
Reference & Technology Librarian |
Christine TobiasMain Library
517-432-6123 ext 313
Send Email
Subjects:
Careers, College Guides, Test Preparation
Ask A Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait