This is the "I. Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Animal Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Animal Science  

Last Updated: Jan 15, 2010 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/cdps2animalscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

I. Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The Department of Animal Science offers both undergraduate and graduate programs leading to Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The goals of the animal industry are to provide safe, nutritious, and economical food, fiber, and recreation for consumers without compromising either the environment or the welfare of animals. Research is done in breeding and genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, nutrition, reproductive and mammary physiology, toxicology, meat science and muscle biology, and livestock and farm management, with a focus on beef or dairy cattle, sheep, swine, horses, poultry, and fur-bearing or laboratory animals.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

The collection has grown as the University has grown over the years from an agricultural college to the research university that it is today. The Animal Science collection supports the teaching and research needs of graduate and undergraduate students and faculty in the Departments of Animal Science and Food Science and Human Nutrition. Animal Science books, journals, trade magazines, etc. were housed in the Animal Industries Reference Room in Anthony Hall to give faculty and students better access to the materials. In August 2003, the Animal Industries Reference Room closed and most of the materials, except for a few trade magazines, were moved to the Main Library. Some materials were moved to the Veterinary Medical Center Library.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sheila Bryant
Contact Info
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive - WG1-G
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0896
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip