Skip to main content
Michigan State University

COB PhD First Year Library Research Series #2 - Advanced Searching and Journal Alerts: Using this Guide

What this Guide Offers

  • Advanced search help for specialty databases in business and other social science disciplines
  • Instructions on how to retrieve review articles which give an overview of the scholarly research on a topic
  •  Instructions on how to set up journal alerts (new publication and search alerts) and RSS feeds to keep up with the literature

Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources

Log into your library account and you will be able to access databases from off campus.

For more information, see Off Campus Access.

NOTE: Some databases are available only in the Business Library.

Finding the Full Text of Articles After Searching a Database

Many databases you search will provide the full text of articles; however, some will not. Following the steps, below, will help:

Step 1

When searching a database for articles (such as ABI/INFORM Complete), click on an article title in the results screen for a more detailed record.  To get full text, look for a link like PDF, HTML, View Full Text and click on it.

If there is no link to the full text, go to Step 2.

Step 2

Look for a Find Text@MSU link within the record of the article. If there is one, click on it and a new window will open with a series of options for finding the full text. Options will vary but may include

  • the article appears in full text
  • Find Full Text at…If an online version of the item is available, one or more links will appear in this category. Usually this links directly to a specific article. Sometimes it may link to the table of contents for a journal issue, a list of volumes and issues available for a specific journal, or a search screen. You will then need to navigate or perform a search to reach the full text of the article. If the MSU Libraries subscribe to the full text from more than one source, multiple links offer you a choice of full-text options. If one does not work, try another

Head, Gast Business Library

Laura Leavitt
Contact:
Law College Building

648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50

East Lansing, MI 48824-1300

517-355-4647
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University