College Guides and Directories
College Guides and Directories are shelved in the Main Library Reference collection on 1 East. These materials cannot be checked out. Materials located in Closed Reference may be requested at the Main Library Reference Desk (1 Center) for use within the Main Library.
To locate college guides and directories do a subject search in the library catalog for "universities and colleges - directories" or "college majors - united states - directories".
Directories for Academic Programs/Majors
- They teach that in college
Call Number: LB2361.5 .T53 2008
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East) - Barron's profiles of American colleges 2007
Call Number: L901 .B26 2007
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East)
General College Selection Guides
Includes information on every accredited four-year undergraduate institution in the U.S. and Canada—more than 2,100 institutions. It also includes detailed two-page descriptions written by admissions personnel for nearly 1,000 colleges.
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East) Call Number: L901 .A554.
Details on every two-year college in the U.S., including academic programs, financial aid, and application deadlines.
Location: Main Library Reference (1 East) Call Number: L901 .A555.
Offered by the Gale Virtual Reference Library, includes narrative descriptions, tabular data, degrees offered, distance and vocational education programs, scholarships, fellowships and grants for colleges and universities in the United States.
Most current print volume is available in Main Library Reference (1 East); Call Number: LA 226.C685.
A guide to undergraduate majors, it describes nearly 200 of the most popular majors in depth: how they are taught at different institutions, what courses students can expect to take, careers they may lead to, etc. Descriptions were complied from contributions of professors teaching in the field.
Located in Main Library Reference (1 East) Call Number: L901 .I525.
From the U.S. Department of Education, College Navigator offers information on colleges in an easy-to-use format. It provides information on nearly 7,000 postsecondary institutions in the United States -- programs offered, retention and graduation rates, prices, aid available, degrees awarded, campus safety, and accreditation. Searches can be conducted by programs offered, degrees offered, institution type, price, selectivity, distance from home, school size, institutional mission (historically black colleges and universities, single-sex), extended learning opportunities for adults (weekend and evening degree programs), and intercollegiate athletics programs offered. The website makes it possible to compare up to four institutions in one view, and maintain a list of favorite institutions from different searches.
Hobson's CollegeView®
Hobson's "College Search" offers profiles of more than 3,800
colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada. The search feature is
very easy to navigate and multiple criteria selections can be searched
at once, including more than one major or area of study. School
profiles include links to key facts, an information request form,
printable application, and campus tour (if available).
Braintrack College & University Directory
BrainTrack is the oldest and most complete online directory of the world's universities and colleges. The web site is an information reference for more than 10,000 higher education institutions in 194 countries. BrainTrack is regularly updated, and has been operating continuously since 1996.
International Handbook of Universities
Published every two years. Provides detailed data on over
9.000 university institutions worldwide, their structure, courses of
study, degrees and diplomas, etc.
Located in Main Library Reference (1 East) LB 2310 .I5.
Postsecondary
Educational Institutions and Programs Accredited by Accrediting
Agencies and State Approval Agencies Recognized by the U.S. Secretary
of Education
A searchable database of approximately 6,900 postsecondary educational
institutions and programs, each of which is accredited by an
accrediting agency or state approval agency recognized by the U.S.
Secretary of Education as a “reliable authority as to the quality of
postsecondary education.” The database does not include a number of
institutions and programs that elect not to seek accreditation but
nevertheless may provide a quality postsecondary education.
Index of American Universities
Lists university names with links to their home pages. Maintained by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Florida.
Reference & Technology Librarian |
Christine TobiasMain Library
517-884-0897
Send Email
Subjects:
James Madison College, Careers, College Guides, Test Preparation
Ask A Librarian
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait