This is the "Finding Books" page of the "FSC 455: Food and Nutrition Laboratory" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FSC 455: Food and Nutrition Laboratory   Tags: fsc-455  

Selected class resources
Last Updated: Aug 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/FSC455 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching the Library Catalog

To locate books on specific topics, search the Library Catalog. Begin with a keyword search which allows the use of everyday terminology and the combination of two or more concepts (e.g. "food and fortification"; "pesticide residues and food"); click on a title of interest and follow the subject hotlinks in the cataloging record to locate other books on the same topic. Use the truncation symbol to retrieve alternate forms of a word (e.g., food contamina* will find food contamination, food contaminants; food label* will find food label, food labels, food labelling). Alternatively, you can do a subject search instead of a keyword search. Subject searches are more precise, but require the use of the standardized Library of Congress subject headings assigned by catalogers. Some of the official Library of Congress subject headings used in this area are:

FOOD-ANALYSIS

FOOD-SENSORY EVALUATION

FOOD-VITAMIN CONTENT

FOOD ADDITIVES

FOOD ADULTERATION AND INSPECTION

FOOD COMPOSITION

FOOD CONTAMINATION

FOOD PRESERVATIVES

FOOD TEXTURE

NUTRITION-EVALUATION

TRACE ELEMENTS IN NUTRITION

 

Finding E-books in the Catalog

Need something online?: You can search for Electronic Materials only. To find resources by topic, click Keyword or Subject, enter your search terms, and click the Search button. You will retrieve a list of electronic resources, ranked by relevancy and displayed 50 per screen, with the most recent listed first. Click on a title of interest for further information and hyperlink.

The Knovel Food Science Collection features over 200 fully-searchable handbooks and reference works covering all areas of food science and technology.

Some selected e-books:

Food Analysis

Food Analysis Laboratory Manual

Handbook of Analysis of Active Compounds in Functional Foods

Handbook of Food Analysis Instruments

Infrared Spectroscopy for Food Quality Analysis and Control

Methods of Analysis of Food Components and Additives

Molecular Biological and Immunological Techniques and Applications for Food Chemists

Statistical Methods for Food Science: Introductory Procedures for the Food Practitioner

Statistics for Sensory and Consumer Science

 

Online Reference Resources

Reference books (both in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you to:

  • Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
  • Identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  • Find references to other books and articles on the subject
  • Find specific keywords to use in online searches

You may find the following useful:

Dictionary of Food Science and Technology    Compiled and edited by the International Food Information Service.

Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology   Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology   Part of the Knovel Life Sciences and Chemistry Collection.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Anita Ezzo
Contact Info
MSU Libraries
366 West Circle Dr., E408
East Lansing, MI 48824
(517) 884-6397
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip