|
TIME SPAN |
TITLE |
TYPE OF RESOURCE |
DESCRIPTION |
| 1741 through the 1930s | American Periodical Series |
|
Articles in 1,028 periodicals |
| 1789-present | ProQuest Congressional | Web-based database | Broad range of Congressional information is provided as is a searchable version of CIS/Index, the key indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. Includes a full text version of the Serial Set (see below) |
| 1789-1969 |
U. S. Congressional Serial Set |
|
Congressional publications, executive branch publications and nongovernmental publications |
| 1800-1900 | 19th Century U.S. Newspapers | Web-based database | "...composed of approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, including many published in what were, at the time, only territories." |
| 1800-1950 | North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories | Web-based database | Provides "a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950." |
| 1820-1945 | Agriculture and Rural Life in Michigan: 1820-1945 | Web-based database | References to books, pamphlets, serial publications, and theses & dissertations related to Michigan agriculture and rural life and published by state and local entities prior to 1946. |
| 1849-1922 | Michigan's Historical Newspapers | Web-based database | Fulltext access to partial runs of Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1922), Kalamazoo Gazette (1872-1919), Lake Superior Miner (1855-1870), Northern Islander (1850-1856), & Weekly Detroit Free Press (1886-1887) |
| 1857-1912 | HarpWeek | Web-based database | Indexing and full text of Harper's Weekly, an important journal documenting American society and culture during the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Gilded Age. |
| 1873-present | Congressional Record |
|
Contains debates and speeches in Congress. Each volume has its own index. |
| 1890-1922 | Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, With Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922 | Print and online | Citations to articles in popular magazines |
| 1900-current | Readers' Guide To Periodical Literature | Print and online | Citations to articles in popular magazines |
| 1850-1877 | Making of America (U. of Michigan portion) Making of America (Cornell U. portion) |
Web-based databases | Full text of 8,000+ books & 150,000 journal articles from 19th century. You must search both databases to be comprehensive. |
| 1851-2001 | New York Times | Web-based database | Full text of complete contents of the newspaper. |
| 1970s- | Lexis-Nexis Academic | Web-based database | Full text of newspapers and some magazines |