AgNIC Viticulture: Publications

Journals & Newsletters
Online Books

American Fruit Grower
American Journal of Enology and Viticulture
American Vineyard [publisher] and American Vineyard [selected articles]
Australian & New Zealand Grapegrower & Winemaker
Australian & New Zealand Wine Industry Journal (Search the table of contents of all Journals by entering a title, keyword, author, or volume).
Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research. Click here for the Table of Contents to the issues.
Australian Viticulture. [Journal index is in Volume 6, no. 6.]
Dan Berger: On Wine - Dan Berger, a columnist for the Napa Valley Register, publishes a weekly newsletter on wines and winemaking.
Dan Berger: On Wine - Dan Berger, a columnist for the Napa Valley Register, publishes a weekly newsletter on wines and winemaking.
Enology Notes (This information was originally published as e-mail missives to Virginia vintners).
Finger Lakes Times
Fruit Winemaking Quarterly (a subscritption-based print publication from New Zealand)
Grape Vine from Vin de Vin Wine Tasting and Collecting
International Journal of Vine and Wine Sciences - The International Journal of Vine and Wine Sciences publishes original works and syntheses, as well as research notes in French or in English, in the fields of vine-growing and oenological science and technology.
Newsletter from the OARDC Grape Branch
The New York Grapevine - a newsletter developed primarily for grape growers and processors - both inside and outside of New York State. Regular columns address issues of interest to growers in the juice and wine industries and include articles by major processors, researchers and others.
New York Times - Dining & Wine - The New York Times - Dining & Wine section offers a variety of information on wine.
New York Wine News (NYWine) - a newsletter created especially for our Canadian export program, but a large portion of the information may be of interest to many others.
New York Wine and Grape Foundation - Uncork New York!
On Wine by Fred McMillin
Practical Winery and Vineyard
Small Fruits Review - (Formerly The Journal of Small Fruit and Viticulture)
Vineyard & Vintage View Newsletter for Missouri Grape Growers and Wine Makers, 1990-2000
Vineyard & Winery Management
Vineyard Vantage
Vintner's Corner - Index, from Virginia Tech
Viticulture Notes is a bi-monthly technical newsletter issued by Dr. Tony K. Wolf, Viticulture Extension Specialist at Virginia Tech.
Virginia Vegetable, Small Fruit and Specialty Crops Newsletter, from Virginia Cooperative Extension
Vitis: Journal of Grapevine Research
Vitis-VEA - Viticulture and Enology Abstracts (Searchable article archives)
Western Fruit Grower
Wine Business - News (formerly SmartWine)
Wine Business Insider (Paying subscription needed to access articles)
Wine Business Monthly (Searchable article archives)
Wine East
Wine Enthusiast
Wine on the Web - "Wine on the Web is a unique Internet publication. It is an independent magazine with audio and is constantly updated. It aims to be the wine consumer's friend by recommending wine for most budgets."
WineMaker magazine - Creating your own great wines.
The Wine Press - a weekly bulletin originally created for New York grape growers and wineries, parts of it may interest others.
Wines and Vines
Wine Spectator
Wine X Magazine - wine, food and an intelligent slice of vice
Winetitles - "Specialist publisher to the wine industry" [Australian titles]
WineUpdate - The first stop for wine lovers on the web, WineUpdate.com gathers the day's news, reviews, and event postings and summarizes them with links to the source pages. Sources include international newspapers, wine publications such as Wine Spectator, Wine Today and Decanter, and wine websites such as Robin Garr's Wine Lovers' Page. Over a thousand of these sources are categorized and rated on the Links page. There are also the latest results from Wine Competitions, which are searchable by winery, varietal and vintage.
Additional grape and wine titles can be linkd to at: Vine2wine.com

• The Cultivation of the Native Grape, and Manufacture of American Wines by George C. Husmann. New York: G. E. & F. W. Woodward. 1866. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• Current Winemaking books - A selected list of current wine making and grape growing books, Shields Library, University of California, Davis.
• Foundations of American Grape Culture by Thomas Volney Munson. New York: Orange Judd and Company. 1909. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• Fungus Diseases of the Grape and Other Plants and Their Treatment by F. Lamson-Scribner. J. T. Lovett Company, Little Silver, N.J. : 1890. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• The Grape in Kansas ...by Kansas State Horticultural Society. and William H. Barnes. Topeka: Issued by the state. 1901.Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• "Grapes", by Edgar Fawcett. The Atlantic monthly. Volume 36, Issue 217. November 1875. pp. 602-603. Text of this article courtesy of the Making of America (MOA) project, Cornell Universtiy Library.
• Grapes and Wines from Home Vineyards by U. P. Hedrick. Oxford University Press, London; 1945.Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• Grapes: Peaches: Melons: and How to Grow Them. A Handbook Dealing with Their History, Culture, Management and Propagation by Thomas William Sanders and Joseph Lansdell. London: W. H. & L. Collingridge. 1924. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• How to Build Orchard and Vineyard Trellises with Max-Ten 200 High-Tensile Fence Wire. Originally published by United States Steel, the Kiwi Fence Systems, Inc. is now the sole proprietor of Max-Ten 200 high-tensile fence wire, and now sells this highly informative book.
• Issues in Red Wine Production 2000, Wednesday & Thursday, March 22 & 23, 2000. Selected articles available in .pdf format.
• A laboratory manual in systematic pomology: an effort to place before the students of pomology in the Michigan agricultural college a means by which an intimate and accurate knowledge of polomogy may be acquired by U. P. Hedrick. s.n., [S.l.: 1903?]. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• The Lorette System of Pruning by Louis Lorette. Martin Hopkinson & Co., London: 1925. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• Manual of American Grape-growing by U. P. Hedrick. New York: The Macmillan company. 1919. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• Manual of Fruit Diseases by L. R. Hesler. Macmillan, New York: 1920 [c1917]. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• "Many Leaves and Few Grapes", by Virginia W. Johnson. Harper's new monthly magazine. Volume 56, Issue 331. December 1877. pp. 8-18. Text of this article courtesy of the Making of America (MOA) project, Cornell Universtiy Library.
• The Mid-Atlantic Winegrape Grower's Guide by Tony K.Wolf, E. Barclay Poling and Thomas W. Knecht. 1995
• "The Old Bunch of Grapes Tavern", by Edwin Lassetter Bynner. The Atlantic monthly. Volume 64, Issue 386. December 1998. pp. 721-735. Text of this article courtesy of the Making of America (MOA) project, Cornell Universtiy Library.
• The Raisin Industry: A Practical Treatise on the Raisin Grapes by Gustav Eisen. San Francisco: bH.S. Crocker & Co., Stationers and Printers. 1890. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• RAVE - Recent Advances in Viticulture and Enology 2001 [in .pdf format]
• RAVE Proceedings 1995-2001 [abstracts available in .pdf format]
• The Rev. Dr. Willoughby and His Wine by Mary Spring Walker. New York: National Temperance Society, 1869. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University
• Small Fruits: Their Propagation and Cultivation, Including the Grape, by William H. Hills. Cupples, Upham & Co., Boston: c1886. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.
• "Thistle Figs; or Grapes that Grow on Thorns." Harper's new monthly magazine. Volume 11, Issue 63. August 1855. pp. 384-391. Text of this article courtesy of the Making of America (MOA) project, Cornell Universtiy Library.
• Wealth and Wine by Mary Dwinell Chellis. New York: National Temperance Society and Publication House, 1874. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University
• Wine or Water by Mrs. Caroline A. Soule. Boston: A. Tompkins, 1862. Part of the Wright American Fiction Project, hosted by the Digital Library Program, Indiana University
• The Wine Press and the Cellar: A Manual for the Wine-maker and the Cellar-man by Emmet H. Rixford. Payot, Upham & Co. ; San Francisco: 1883. Full text of this work courtesy of the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA), Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University.