This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Spartan Debate 2009" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spartan Debate 2009  

Resources for the 2009 Spartan Debate. Resolved: The United Stated federal government should substantially increase social services for persons living in poverty in the United States.
Last Updated: Mar 1, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/spartandebate2009 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spartan Debate Topic 2009

Resolved:  The United Stated federal government should substantially increase social services for persons living in poverty in the United States. 

Basic Resources

  • Debate Central
    From the National Center for Policy Analysis, a bipartisan public policy research organization, this site provides relevant resources, articles, web sites and discussion forums for the debate's main themes. Includes topic overview and poverty definitions.
  • MSU Spartan Debate Institute
  • MSU Libraries Services for Spartan Debate 2009
    Hours, computers, printing, wireless, branches, books (including Hubbard reserves), photocopies, and reference assistance for the 2009 MSU Spartan Debate Institute
 

Finding Background Information

Use the following sources to find background information.  Reference books are a good source of background information and can help you:

  • Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
  • Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
  • Find references to other books and articles on the subject
  • Find specific keywords to use in online searches

The following are a selected list of reference books, as well as a web site defining poverty and poverty measures.

Poverty in the United States : an encyclopedia of history, politics, and policy - edited by Gwendolyn Mink and Alice O'Connor
Call Number: HC110.P6 P598 2004 (Main Library Reference)
Poverty in the United States: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, and Policy follows the history of poverty in the United States, with an emphasis on the 20th century, and examines the evolution of public policy and the impact of critical movements in social welfare such as the New Deal, the War on Poverty, and, more recently, the "end of welfare as we know it." Entries describe and analyze the definitions and explanations of poverty, the relationship of the welfare state to poverty, and the political responses by the poor, middle-class professionals, and the policy elite.

Poverty - Definitions
Explains how various government agencies define and measure poverty.

Green Book (2008)
"The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation. It has become a standard reference work for those interested in the direction of social policy in the United States." (GPO)

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Online encyclopedia with brief overviews of major welfare programs, legislation and figures in the history of social welfare in the US.

The social work dictionary - Robert L. Barker
Call Number: HV12 .B37
A resource compiled by the National Association of Social Workers.


 

Poverty in Rural America (Part I) (1965): USDA

 

Poverty in Rural America (Part II) (1965): USDA

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip