This is the "Finding Bills" page of the "Finding and tracking federal bills and laws" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding and tracking federal bills and laws  

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=48189 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding Bills Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Proquest Legislative Insight

Proquest Legislative Insight offers 18,058 legislative histories from 1929-2013 with the the complete full text of all documents (including all bill versions) that form the legislative history.  

If a bill is not available here, use the resources below.

Finding Federal Bills

With... Using...
Bill number
eg. H.R. 133; S.133

Proquest Congressional 1989-present.  After entering the citation information and clicking search,, select Bill Profile under Narrow Results by Document Type.  Do not need to know congress/year.

THOMAS 1989-present. Link to bill summary and status for bill actions.

Congress.gov is a new website that will replace THOMAS.gov as the government's site for accessing free, fact-based legislative information by the end of 2014. The Congress.gov site includes bill status and summary, bill text, House and Senate member profiles, and a number of new features, including effective display on mobile devices. Learn more about the new site.

FdSys 1993-present.

 A Century of Lawmaking...1799-1873.

GovDocs fiche 1979-2000 Y 1.4/
Use with Final cumulative finding aid, House and Senate bills on cabinets above bills in GovDocs 3 West to find the fiche number as bills are not filmed consecutively on the fiche.

For bills introduced between 1873-1979, please use inter-library services. There are film/fiche sets of historical senate and house bills and resolutions.  CRL has coverage from 1789-1978.

Slip or session law citation
eg. P.L. 107-1
89 Stat. 223

Proquest Congressional (If you search on the Basic or Advanced Search forms, legislative histories will be included in your search results. The Advanced Search form allows you to limit your search to return results from legislative histories only. To use the Search by Number form to retrieve legislative histories, search by bill number, public law number, or Statutes at Large citation.) 1989-present.

THOMAS (Public Laws) Index: 1973-present. Includes link to bill text: 1989-present.

Congress.gov is a new website that will replace THOMAS.gov as the government's site for accessing free, fact-based legislative information by the end of 2014. The Congress.gov site includes bill status and summary, bill text, House and Senate member profiles, and a number of new features, including effective display on mobile devices. Learn more about the new site.

FdSys (Public and Private Laws) 1993-present. Text of law gives bill no. Use bill no. to search in Congressional Bills section.

Statutes at Large 1963-present. Organized by congressional session. Cross-reference from public law to bill. Index only. No full-text of bill. From 1975, a bill history can be found at the end of the law.

Subject and other information/Keyword search

Proquest Congressional 1989-present.

FdSys (Congressional Bills) 1993-present. Full-text keyword and other fields search.

THOMAS 1973-present. Search by combination of keyword, subject, sponsor/co-sponsor or stage in legislative process. Organized by congressional session. Index only from 1973-1989. Full text of bills from 1989-present only. Link to bill summary and status for bill action.

Congress.gov is a new website that will replace THOMAS.gov as the government's site for accessing free, fact-based legislative information by the end of 2014. The Congress.gov site includes bill status and summary, bill text, House and Senate member profiles, and a number of new features, including effective display on mobile devices. Learn more about the new site.

Digest of Public General Bills GovDocs LC 14.6: 1936-1990. Organized by congressional session. Also: sponsor, co-sponsor, identical bill and short title indexes. Subject index not comprehensive. Provides bill history and status including bill summary, floor action, dates, roll call vote summary and report numbers. Index only. No full-text of bills.

Congressional Record Index Also available in print in GovDocs Non-Circulating. Organized by congressional session. Subject and sponsor indexes to bills are part of the main subject index. Use the History of Bills and Resolutions section (organized by bill number) to find bill actions including summary, floor action, debates and references to reports. Index only. No full-text of bills.
Note: legislative action often spans more than one congressional session. For the full legislative action on a bill, you may need to use multiple years of the Congressional Record Index.

Note: The Congressional Record Index is also available online for the following periods:
A Century of Lawmaking... (1789-1875)
FdSys History of Bills (1983-present)

      
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip