Last Updated: Aug 24, 2012
Search tip: Many of the online indexes may not have a
specific report number search feature, but report numbers can usually
be searched using a keyword search.
"a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results." Allows users to browse or search government scientific databases from major science agencies using a single search.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) Reports and Indexes
- NTIS National Technical Information Service Index, 1964-present
Scope: citations for technical reports from many federal agencies. Links to full-text when available free on other web sites.
Use this index to identify reports, then check if reports are available at the MSU Library. Otherwise use interlibrary loan service to request from another library.
- NTIS Report Indexes (1946-1995)
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. Content still being added. Currently includes Bureau of Mines, AEC & National Bureau of Standards reports.
- STINET MultiSearch
Allows users to search across multiple scientific and technical report databases from the federal government. From the Department of Defense.
- Virtual Technical Reports Center
This site contains links to ther web sites with searchable extended abstracts or full-text technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.