This is the "Home" page of the "Getting Started Guide: Grants and Scholarships" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Getting Started Guide: Grants and Scholarships  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2012 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/GettingStartedGrants Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Use these resources to find articles:

Foundation Directory Online Professional (Main Library Access Only)

According to the Foundation Center, the Foundation Directory Online Professional database provides subscribers with unprecedented access to a wide array of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Includes information on nearly 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs (with sponsoring company information), and grantmaking public charities, as well as a searchable database of 500,000 recently awarded grants. The new "Foundation Portfolio" feature organizes funder-specific content in one convenient location in the application, and includes: the funder profile and most recent 990s and, particularly for the larger foundations: the ability to search within a funder's grants list, using customized search indexes; full-color downloadable charts that show the distribution of the funder's grants in multiple categories; funder-related news, requests for proposals (RPFs), job opportunities, publications and articles (updated daily); and trustees, officers, donors, and other key staff, with titles and affiliations. A special 990 Search feature allows subscribers to search across the text of every 990 that we have in our database attached to a grantmaker record. Updated weekly.

GrantSelect

GrantSelect, the online version of the GRANTS Database contains over 10, 000 funding opportunities provided by over 3,400 sponsoring organizations. Each record includes: contact information, sponsor name and address, subject terms for related searches, and type of sponsor (federal agency, foundation, research institute, etc.). Each record also includes, where available: URLs to more information on the funding opportunity, deadline date(s), restrictions on who may apply (including geographic restrictions), lists of previous awards, amount(s) of grant or award, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance number, populations encouraged to apply (e.g., women, minorities, disabled), RFA and PA numbers for NIH grants, and program numbers for NSF grants. Funding opportunities range from pure research grants to arts programs, biomedical and health care research, community services programs, children and youth programs, and K-12 education funding. Sponsoring organizations include federal government agencies (including NIH, NSF, Centers for Disease Control, and many others), foundations and other nonprofit organizations, corporations and corporate foundations, research institutes, state agencies, and universities.

 

More detailed help:

Grants

A comprehensive list of resources on grants and related resources.

All MSU E-Resources on Grants and Scholarships

 

This Getting Started Guide is intended to point you to the primary database(s) you need to find articles on this topic. It is not a complete list of sources for any subject.

If you do not find what you need please Ask a Librarian, contact the subject specialist in this area: Jon Harrison, or view other MSU Library Research Guides. To find books, search the MSU Libraries' catalog.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip