Provides links to major (Free) online mapping resources including interactive maps, static maps, and scanned originals for the World, North America, United States, and Michigan.
Last Updated: Jun 17, 2013
- Links to Historical Maps, click here
- PCL Map Collection, University of Texas
Large collection of scanned maps, including a lot of general reference maps from the CIA.
- CIA Maps of Countries of the World
The CIA creates simple letter-sized (8.5" x 11") maps of countries of the world. These page-size base maps are in the public domain. They may be copied freely without permission of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
- Nautical Charts
This site provides viewing access certain charts published by the United States National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration. Currently Regions 1 (Coast of North America), 5 (West Africa, Mediterranean, Black Sea) and 9 (Eastern Asia, SE Russia, Philippines) are available.
- Google Maps
View basic or custom maps and local business information, including business locations, contact information, and driving directions. Click and drag maps to view adjacent sections immediately. View aerial images of your desired location that you can zoom and pan. 45-degree images now available. Some areas include traffic information and street-level views.
- MSU Map Library Scanned maps
Simple boundary maps, easy to print.
- North American Environmental Atlas
The commission for environmental cooperation, including Natural Resources Canada; Mexico's National Institute of Statistics and Geography; and the U.S. Geological Survey – created harmonized base map layers of political boundaries, populated places, roads and railroads, coastlines, lakes and rivers, and other features provide a consistent framworkto depict layers for renewable energy capacity, priority conservation areas, and other environmental themes.
- P & P Free Map of the world
Customize a world map by zoom, draw color lines, add text, and fill in countries.
- Smithsonian Map Catalog
This catalog leads to over 12,000 maps that have been scanned and made available in 300 pixel per inch jpgs
Weather Undergrounds's interactive map of current weather conditions.
- Nautical Charts Online
View NOAA's International, U.S. coastal, and Great Lakes nautical charts.
- Atlas of Canada
The Atlas of Canada provides authoritative, current and accessible geographic information products at a national level. Working with partners, the Atlas facilitates the integration and analysis of diverse data in order to increase overall knowledge about Canada.
[MSU Map library has older editions of the paper Atlas of Canada]
- GEOSCAN Database
GEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific and technical publications of the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada. It indexes about 50,000 pubications. Some are owned by MSU Libraries and some not. Check holdings in the Libraries' online catalog and also check with the MSU Map Library.
- Topographic maps of Canada
Use an interactive viewer (via Atlas of Canada) to view detailed topographic information. Find here also links to information on downloading or purchasing maps. [The MSU Map library also houses an extensive collection of paper topographic maps of Canada at 1:250,000 and 1:50,000.]
- Geology Ontario
GeologyOntario provides access to the information holdings of the Ontario Geological Survey. Rich spatial and attribute search functionality facilitates discovery of information in over 85,000 reports and 168,000 maps from OGS publications and client submitted mining assessment files. In addition, hundreds of digital products containing field data, geophysical surveys, geochemical analyses and geochronological measurements.