Statistical Reference Books
Although outdated this book still points to relevant sources of information and provides historical facts.
Includes county and place profiles, rankings and comparisons. Sections on education, ancestry, Hispanic population, Asian population, climate, and demographic and reference maps.
Regional Resources
- Tri-County Regional Planning CommissionClinton, Eaton, and Ingham counties. The TCRPC supports the region of mid-Michigan by planning for and coordinating intergovernmental solutions to growth-related problems, providing technical assistance to local governments and meeting the needs of communities across the region.
- Southeastern Michigan Council of GovernmentsYour connection to information on Southeast Michigan. Access interactive databases and mapping applications featuring demographic, transportation, economic, land use, and public safety information.
- Data Driven DetroitData Driven Detroit (D3) provides accessible, high-quality information and analysis to drive informed decision-making to strengthen communities in Southeast Michigan.
- Northwest Michigan Council of GovernmentsThis web page provides access to statistics for the counties, townships, cities, villages and schools located in northwest lower Michigan; some data for the entire State of Michigan, and links to other Internet-based data sources.
- Northeast Michigan Council of GovernmentsGIS and Census data for Alcona county, Alpena county, Cheboygan county, Crawford county, Montmorency county, Oscoda county, Otsego county, and Presque Isle county.
- West Michigan Shoreline Regional Development CommissionThe WMSRDC is a federal and state designated regional planning and development agency serving 127 local governments in Lake, Mason, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, and northern Ottawa Counties.
- East Michigan Council of GovernmentsServing the Arenac, Bay, Clare, Gladwin, Gratiot, Huron, Iosco, Isabella, Midland, Ogemaw, Roscommon, Saginaw, Sanilac, Tuscola Counties, and the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe.
Introduction
Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources. Although most of the materials listed below are located in the Government Documents Library (Main Library, 3 West), some materials are located in other Library locations. Selected WWW resources are also included. Please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk (floor 1 Center) if you need further assistance.
General Sources
These statistical reference books and online tools from the U.S. Census Bureau provide an excellent starting point for finding both general and topical statistical tables about Michigan.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The first source for statistics on all aspects of population, economy and society in the United States. Annual publication 1878-present. Although emphasis in the Statistical Abstract is primarily given
to national data, many tables present data for regions and individual states
and a smaller number for metropolitan areas and cities. Also available in print (1878-present).
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and
individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of
sources. Information in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book covers the
following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business
establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime,
deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government,
health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures,
marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty,
race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and
engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans. Also available in print.
County and City Data Book
The most comprehensive source of information about the individual
counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S.
states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. Information in the County and City Data Book covers the following
topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments,
climate, construction, crime, deaths, earnings, education, elections,
employment, finance, government, health, households, housing, income,
labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, race and Hispanic
origin, social services, and water use. Also available in print.
County and City Data Books Online (University of Virginia Library)
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City
Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom
printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for
1988-2000).
Subject Specialist Librarian |
Statistical Indexes & Databases
- StatistaStatista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightIndexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Please consult this guide for instructions on how to access materials that are not already digitized.
- ProQuest Statistical DataSetsThis is a powerful interdisciplinary database that assembles statistical information from government and private sources in one single interface. It aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes 14 billion data points accessible. Researchers are able to manipulate datasets, make comparisons, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without having to use additional software programs.




Loading...
