ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals by
This Encyclopedia provides coverage of a wide range of topics contributed by experts world wide. The work emphasizes the chemicals used in agriculture for management of pests, their development, use, metabolism, toxicology and mode of action. These chemicals include pesticides, such as the herbicides (weed killers), insecticides and fungicides. Applications of biotechnology are included as are discussions of natural products and growth regulators. Fertilizers and soil fertility are covered at length as well as the persistence of pesticide residues, their degradation, environmental transport and implications of their residues in the environmental. Toxicological and regulatory implications are included throughout. Comprehensive range of topics included - emphasizing chemicals used in pest management and soil fertility. Cover the chemistry, properties, toxicology, biotechnology, regulatory and environmental aspects of agrochemicals. Expert contributors from around the world. Provides an introduction to the field of agrochemicals. Environmental and toxicological aspects are included. This work is a single source reference containing authoritative articles, definitions, literature citations and suggestions for further reading. Available as a 3-volume print set or a convenient online edition. For details regarding the online edition please visit Wiley InterScience at www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/eoa The definitive reference work on agrochemicals Agrochemicals, such as pesticides, animal food additives, veterinary drugs, and related compounds, have become absolutely integral to the production of large-scale agriculture. As the prevalence of agrochemicals has steadily increased during the past 50 years, so have their complexity and sophistication. The three volume Encyclopedia of Agrochemicals is the first major reference work exclusively devoted to the cataloging, analysis, regulation, utility, and environmental impact of agrochemicals. This multidisciplinary resource proves an invaluable guide to government policy makers and environmental analysts as well as scientists in the agricultural, veterinary, chemical, and biotechnology industries.
Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses and Viroids by
The Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses and Viroids provides an up-to-date information on the viruses and viroids infecting all types of cultivated and weed plants at global level; and is unique among plant virology texts as it is organized alphabetically by the genus name of the host plant infected. It allows the reader to readily determine all of the different viruses currently reported naturally infecting the plant genus and species. Information is provided for each virus and viroids on common synonyms, current taxonomic status, geographical distribution, symptoms induced, other known hosts, means of transmission and properties of both the virus particles and the genome. Where ever the same virus is known to infect multiple hosts, host-specific information, biological properties and genome characters are presented under each host affected. The index can be utilized to identify other crops infected by the same virus, showing which other crops might be at risk of infection in the event of introduction of a virus that has not previously reported in an area, or which might serve as potential virus reservoirs for infection of more sensitive or economically important crops than the host in which it is initially identified. The taxonomy and nomenclature of the viruses and viroids are followed based on the current guidelines of the 10th ICTV Report, covering up to 2018 and also about many new viruses and viroids that have been reported but not yet recognized as species by ICTV, have been included in this Encyclopedia. The uniqueness of this Encyclopedia is that all the known viruses and viroids affecting more than 1010 plant species at global level are described and the plant species are arranged in alphabetical order of the scientific name of the plant along the relevant information on 1518 viruses and viroids and is the ready-reckoner of the global plant species and their viruses and viroids for students, scientists, teachers of Plant Pathology& Virology; and also for the crop protection professionals, agricultural policymakers, seed companies and quarantine agencies.
Plants of the World by
Plants of the World is the first book to systematically explore every vascular plant family on earth--more than four hundred and fifty of them--organized in a modern phylogenetic order. Detailed entries for each family include descriptions, distribution, evolutionary relationships, and fascinating information on economic uses of plants and etymology of their names. All entries are also copiously illustrated in full color with more than 2,500 stunning photographs. A collaboration among three celebrated botanists at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Plants of the World is authoritative, comprehensive, and beautiful. Covering everything from ferns to angiosperms, it will be an essential resource for practicing botanists, horticulturists, and nascent green thumbs alike.
Encyclopedia of Cultivated Plants by
Readers of this expansive, three-volume encyclopedia will gain scientific, sociological, and demographic insight into the complex relationship between plants and humans across history. Comprising three volumes and approximately half a million words, this work is likely the most comprehensive reference of its kind, providing detailed information not only about specific plants and food crops such as barley, corn, potato, rice, and wheat, but also interdisciplinary content that draws on the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The entries underscore the fascination that humans have long held for plants, identifies the myriad reasons why much of life on earth would be impossible without plants, and points out the intertwined relationship of plants and humans--and how delicate this balance can be. While the majority of the content is dedicated to the food plants that are essential to human existence, material on ornamentals, fiber crops, pharmacological plants, and carnivorous plants is also included.
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science by
Encyclopedia of Plant and Crop Science is the first-ever single-source reference work to inclusively cover classic and modern studies in plant biology in conjunction with research, applications, and innovations in crop science and agriculture. From the fundamentals of plant growth and reproduction to developments in agronomy and agricultural science, the encyclopedia's authoritative content nurtures communication between these academically distinct yet intrinsically related fields-offering a spread of clear, descriptive, and concise entries to optimally serve scientists, agriculturalists, policy makers, students, and the general public. ALSO AVAILABLE ONLINE This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for both researchers, students, and librarians, including: Citation tracking and alerts Active reference linking Saved searches and marked lists HTML and PDF format options For more information, visit Taylor and Francis Online or contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Magill's Encyclopedia of Science Plant Life by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Agriculture and the Environment by
This comprehensive collection of 71 peer-reviewed articles presents an authoritative overview of the role and impacts of agriculture on the natural and human environments, from its origins historically to current praxis and outlooks
Rourke's World of Science Encyclopedia: Plant & Fungi Life," Volume 3 by DICTIONARIES
Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms by
The Concise Illustrated Dictionary of Biocontrol Terms includes basic terminology related to the biological control of pests, together with state-of-the-art scientific and practical terms, for expedient comprehension and analysis of present, forecasted or in situ pest management problems. In addition, it also provides the names of the most common pesticides and predators commercially available in different continents (Americas, Europe, Asia, Australia, Africa), as well as target pests and diseases of these agents, making it a tangible tool for prompt management actions. The dictionary is copiously illustrated with original pictures clarifying the most commonly used terms and the identity of organisms in biocontrol technology, with content that is both scientifically rigorous and clear. The biological control of pests using living organisms, or products from their activities, is an independent branch of science based on multiple disciplines including general biology, zoology, entomology, phytopathology, microbiology and others. As a result, the field of biological control has its own specific terminology that needs to be understood and applied correctly across this variety of disciplines, including among those approaching the field from a different area of expertise and who may have difficulty understanding the terms used by experts in the field. This compact illustrated guide will appeal to the scientific community working in integrated pest management disciplines, as well as those researching, studying, and working with interest in protecting natural resources at a global, local, and individual level, in a variety of locations including the lab, garden, field, or forest. Enables understanding of the terminology used in biological control for professionals, researchers and students in a variety of scientific fields Features clear images and photographs to help identify insects and pathogens Ideal for in situ use in both the lab and field pest management protocols
CRC World Dictionary of Medicinal and Poisonous Plants: common names, scientific names, eponyms, synonyms, and etymology by
"Following on the successes of two previous dictionary projects, the CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names and the CRC World Dictionary of the Grasses, Umberto Quattrocchi has undertaken this dictionary of economically important plants. He has done for these plants what was so admirably done in his other works-brought the vast and scattered literature.
Dictionary of Plant Breeding by
One of the oldest scientific traditions, plant breeding began in Neolithic times with methods as simple as saving the seeds of desirable plants and sowing them later. It was not until the re-encounter with Mendel's discoveries thousands of years later, the genetic basis of breeding was understood. Developments following have provided further insight into how genes acting alone or in concert with other genes and the environment, result in a particular phenotype. From Abaxial to Zymogram, the third edition of Dictionary of Plant Breeding contains clear and useful definitions of the terms associated with plant breeding and related scientific/technological disciplines. It defines jargon; provides helpful tables, examples, and breeding schemes; and includes a list of crop plants with salient details. Packed with data and organized to make that data easy to access, this revised and expanded reference provides comprehensive coverage of the latest discoveries in cytogenetics, molecular genetics, marker-assisted selection, experimental gene transfer, CRISPR technology, seed sciences, crop physiology, and genetically modified crops. Features: Provides a comprehensive list of technical terms used in plant breeding Explores the historical development of crop improvement Discusses applications of molecular genetics and biotechnology Includes numerous figures, drawings, tables, and schemes supplementing the glossary A complex subject, plant breeding draws from many scientific and technological disciplines, often making it difficult to know the precise meanings of many terms and to accurately interpret specific concepts. As in the previous editions, this dictionary unifies concepts by including the specific terms of plant breeding and terms that are adjusted from other disciplines. Drawing on Rolf Schlegel's 50 years of experience, the book provides an encyclopedic list of commonly used technical terms that reflect the latest developments in the field.
CRC World Dictionary of Medicinal and Poisonous Plants by
"Following on the successes of two previous dictionary projects, the CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names and the CRC World Dictionary of the Grasses, Umberto Quattrocchi has undertaken this dictionary of economically important plants. He has done for these plants what was so admirably done in his other works-brought the vast and scattered literatu
Dictionary of Plant Lore by
Knowledge of plant names can give insight into largely forgotten beliefs. For example, the common red poppy is known as "Blind Man" due to an old superstitious belief that if the poppy were put to the eyes it would cause blindness. Many plant names derived from superstition, folk lore, or primal beliefs. Other names are purely descriptive and can serve to explain the meaning of the botanical name. For example, Beauty-Berry is the name given to the American shrub that belongs to the genus Callicarpa. Callicarpa is Greek for beautiful fruit. Still other names come from literary sources providing rich detail of the transmission of words through the ages. Conceived as part of the author's wider interest in plant and tree lore and ethnobotanical studies, this fully revised edition of Elsevier's Dictionary of Plant Names and Their Origins contains over 30,000 vernacular and literary English names of plants. Wild and cultivated plants alike are identified by the botanical name. Further detail provides a brief account of the meaning of the name and detailed commentary on common usage.
Agriculture: a Very Short Introduction by
Agriculture, one of the oldest human occupations, is practised all over the world, using techniques ranging from the profoundly traditional to the most scientifically advanced. Without it we would starve. Yet how many of us understand what is happening in the fields that we see as we drivethrough the countryside? How often do we think about the origins of the food in our trolley?In this Very Short Introduction Paul Brassley and Richard Soffe explain what farmers do and why they do it. Beginning with the most basic resource, the soil, they show why it is important, and how farmers can increase its productivity, before turning to the plants and animals that grow on it, andtracing the connections between their biology and the various ways in which farmers work with them. The authors conclude by looking at some of the controversial issues facing contemporary agriculture: its sustainability; its impact on wildlife and landscape; issues of animal welfare; and the affectof climate change and the development of genetically modified organisms on farmers.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Multilingual Dictionary of Agronomic Plants by
The Dictionary contains the names of nearly 2500 plant species, in some cases including subspecies and varieties. Tropical crops from all parts of the world receive the same attention as those from the temperate zone. Common names are given not only in English, French, German, Portuguese and Spanish but also in many other languages, where such names are used in the technical literature. `Agronomic plants' comprise not only the agricultural and horticultural crops but also pasture plants, green manure, soil covers, trees used in agroforestry, and major weeds. Also included are plants which are presently being discussed as new crops, with considerable economic value. The Dictionary will meet the needs not only of scientists in agriculture, botany and geography but also those of agricultural extensionists, merchants in agricultural products and professional translators.
Bet the Farm: how food stopped being food by
A prominent food journalist follows the trail from Big Pizza to square tomatoes to exploding food prices to Wall Street, trying figure out why we can't all have healthy, delicious, affordable food In 2008, farmers grew enough to feed twice the world's population, yet more people starved than ever before--and most of them were farmers. In Bet the Farm, food writer Kaufman sets out to discover the connection between the global food system and why the food on our tables is getting less healthy and less delicious even as the the world's biggest food companies and food scientists say things are better than ever. To unravel this riddle, he moves down the supply chain like a detective solving a mystery, revealing a force at work that is larger than Monsanto, McDonalds or any of the other commonly cited culprits--and far more shocking. Kaufman's recent cover story for Harper's, ""The Food Bubble,"" provoked controversy throughout the food world, and led to appearances on the NBC Nightly News, MSNBC, Fox Business News, Democracy Now, and Bloomberg TV, along with features on National Public Radio and the BBC World Service. Visits the front lines of the food supply system and food politics as Kaufman visits farms, food science research labs, agribusiness giants, the United Nations, the Chicago Mercantile Exchange, and more Explains how food has been financialized and the powerful consequences of this change, including: the Arab Spring, started over rising food prices; farmers being put out of business; food scientists rushing to make easy-to-transport, homogenized ingredients instead of delicious foods Explains how the push for sustainability in food production is more likely to make everything worse, rather than better--and how the rise of fast food is bad for us, but catastrophic for those who will never even see a McNugget or frozen pizza
Forages: The Science of Grassland Agriculture, 7th Edition, Volume II by
Forages: The Science of Grassland Agriculture, 7th Edition, Volume II will extensively evaluate the current knowledge and information on forage agriculture. Chapters written by leading researchers and authorities in grassland agriculture are aggregated under section themes, each one representing a major topic within grassland science and agriculture. This 7th edition will include two new additional chapters covering all aspects of forage physiology in three separate chapters, instead of one in previous editions. Chapters will be updated throughout to include new information that has developed since the last edition. This new edition of the classic reference serves as a comprehensive supplement to An Introduction to Grassland Agriculture, Volume I.
Forages, Volume 1 : An Introduction to Grassland Agriculture by
Forages, Volume I, Seventh Edition is the most comprehensive text available for teachers of undergraduate Forages courses. This edition will provide students with a good balance of scientific principles, to aid in integrating the concepts they learn, and practical information on forage identification, plant characteristics, management, and utilization that can be used by forage management practitioners. Grassland ecosystems are extremely complex, including the plant/animal interface as well as the soil/climate/forage interface and the text must support understanding and integration of all of these considerations. The coverage of the science behind the plant characteristics and responses make the book applicable in many parts of the world, while other region-specific management information relates mainly to North America. This edition has been updated to address emerging areas of study, including the use of forage plants as bioenergy crops. The editors also address the renewed national interest in environmental issues such as water quality, global climate change and eutrophication in the Gulf. This edition also addresses the role of forages for wildlife habitat and food sources, another area of increased interest in recent years. These revisions respond to the generational change taking place among forage scientists and teachers in recent years.
Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management, 5th ed. by
Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management is the longstanding authority on all aspects of the science and practices behind world-class turfgrass care. This fully revised Fifth Edition comes enriched by two new authors who share their cutting-edge research and real-world expertise on such topics as growth, soil testing, nutrition, herbicides, insecticides, and fungicides. Coverage throughout is refreshed with new illustrations and charts, as well as: Expanded coverage on professional lawn care programs, including cool-season and warm-season turfgrasses, establishing methods and costs, cultivation, sand topdressing, and more Enhanced material on the most up-to-date thinking and practices in weed management Brand-new chapters on the environmental, economic, and quality-of-life benefits of well-maintained turf, as well as the influence of light on turf health Whether you're earning a degree or a paycheck, Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management, Fifth Edition remains the most complete, respected guidebook of solutions for developing and maintaining the finest-standards of turfgrass.
Compendium of turfgrass diseases, 4th ed by 
Postharvest Pathology of Fruit and Nut Crops by 
Laboratory Protocols for Phytophthora Species by 