Welcome! The MSU Libraries migrated to a new discovery and catalog system and it may take time to get used to. Here is a page of FAQs that can answer many of your questions and troubleshoot the new system as you get accustomed to it. However, if you need help, please contact us!
Ball RedBook: Crop Culture and Production by
This essential resource for professional plant growers includes techniques and advice intended for real-world greenhouse and nursery production. Information is offered on the basics of crop culture--media, nutrition, irrigation, water quality, light, temperature, crop scheduling, growth regulators, pest management, and more. In the Crops section, which is organized by botanical name, you will find details about propagation, growing on, insect and disease control, troubleshooting, and postharvest care. The plants represented in this compendium include annuals, perennials, flowering potted plants, herbs, vegetable bedding plants, and a new and detailed section on cannabis/hemp.
Ball RedBook: Greenhouse Structures, Equipment, and Technology, 19th ed. by
Based on real-life experiences from experienced industry professionals, including equipment and greenhouse manufacturers and growers, the presented information covers all aspects of commercial greenhouses and the equipment needed to run them--the structures themselves, benches, irrigation, heating and cooling, environmental controls, mechanization, and automation. The most recent developments in greenhouse evolution are discussed, as are the varieties of available greenhouse structures and specialized structures, including headhouses, chemical storage facilities, and retail greenhouses. New to the 19th Edition is a section on The Cannabis Greenhouse.
Basics Landscape Architecture 02: Ecological Design by
Basics Landscape Architecture 02: Ecological Design provides an overview of ecological design and planning for landscape architects. It explores the concepts and themes important to the contemporary practice of ecological design and planning in a highly accessible and richly illustrated format. Focusing primarily on urban environments, this book examines the relationships between ecological design theory and design methods. It describes and illustrates the basic structures and functions of natural and human systems through landscape ecology principles and the dynamics of landscape processes.
The Fundamentals of Horticulture: Theory and Practice by
Essential reading for all studying horticulture and keen gardeners. This clear introduction to the principles underlying the practical applications of horticulture opens up the excitement of growing plants and garden development.
Hydroponic Food Production: A Definitive Guidebook for the Advanced Home Gardener and the Commercial Hydroponic Grower, 8th ed. by
The eighth edition of Hydroponic Food Production: A Definitive Guidebook for the Advanced Home Gardener and the Commercial Hydroponic Grower serves as a comprehensive guide to soilless culture (hydroponics) for hobby and commercial growers. Extensively updated from the seventh edition published in 2013, this bestseller is a "methods" book to show the reader how to set up a hydroponic operation with the options of using any of many hydroponic cultures presently used in the industry to grow vegetable crops. Written by Dr Howard M. Resh, a recognized authority worldwide on hydroponics, the book presents detailed information on hydroponic growing systems and features more than 600 photographs (200 in full color), drawings, and tables. New to this edition: Presents greenhouse environmental control systems and examples of sustainable greenhouse technology, and demonstrates uses of automation and robotics in harvesting, grading, and packing. Introduces indoor vertical farming, and vertical growing systems, as well as the expansion of tropical hydroponics and rooftop greenhouses. Provides information on automation in large-scale raft culture and nutrient film technique (NFT) operations in the growing of lettuce, leafy greens, and herbs. A new chapter 12 discusses control of environmental factors in greenhouses. It covers information on systems to regulate temperature, relative humidity, carbon dioxide enrichment, lighting, and fertigation with examples of sustainable greenhouse technology. This chapter demonstrates automation in the regulation of the greenhouse environment to crop production methods with emphasis on robotics in harvesting to transporting, grading, and packing equipment. The use of retractable roof structures in tropical, humid climates is an alternative for growing greenhouse crops. A new chapter 14 describes vertical indoor farming. It presents background information on early vertical greenhouses and sack culture systems to present vertical systems used by greenhouses and existing vertical greenhouses and future concepts. Vertical indoor farming reviews systems of vertical tiers of shelving growing lettuce, leafy greens, and herbs under LED lighting in large warehouses. The chapter exemplifies automation in these vertical farms with each specific system and it contains information on vertical growing in containers and/or modular units. Chapter 15 contains new information on tropical hydroponics describing hydroponics in Peru. Expansions of rooftop greenhouses with new locations in New York, Chicago, and Montreal display updated facilities and crops.
Landscape Graphics: Plan, Section, and Perspective Drawing of Landscape Spaces by
Announcing the new revised edition of the classic industry reference! Landscape Graphics is the architect’s ultimate guide to all the basic graphics techniques used in landscape design and landscape architecture. Progressing from the basics into more sophisticated techniques, this guide offers clear instruction on graphic language and the design process, the basics of drafting, lettering, freehand drawing and conceptual diagramming, perspective drawing, section elevations, and more. It also features carefully sequenced exercises, a complete file of graphic symbols for sections and perspectives, and a handy appendix of conversions and equivalents.
The Market Gardener: A successful grower's handbook for small-scale organic farming by
Grow better not bigger with proven low-tech, human-scale, biointensive farming methods Les Jardins de la Grelinette is a micro-farm located in Eastern Quebec, just north of the American border. Growing on just 1.5 acres, owners Jean-Martin and Maude-Helene feed more than 200 families through their thriving CSA and seasonal market stands and supply their signature mesclun salad mix to dozens of local establishments. The secret of their success is the low-tech, high-yield production methods they've developed by focusing on growing better rather than growing bigger, making their operation more lucrative and viable in the process. The Market Gardener is a compendium of La Grelinette's proven horticultural techniques and innovative growing methods. This complete guide is packed with practical information on: Setting-up a micro-farm by designing biologically intensive cropping systems, all with negligible capital outlay; Farming without a tractor and minimizing fossil fuel inputs through the use of the best hand tools, appropriate machinery and minimum tillage practices; Growing mixed vegetables systematically with attention to weed and pest management, crop yields, harvest periods and pricing approaches. Inspired by the French intensive tradition of maraichage and by iconic American vegetable grower Eliot Coleman, author and farmer Jean-Martin shows by example how to start a market garden and make it both very productive and profitable. Making a living wage farming without big capital outlay or acreages may be closer than you think.
The Organic Farming Manual : A Comprehensive Guide to Starting and Running a Certified Organic Farm by
Providing expert tips on tending the land, caring for animals, and necessary equipment, Ann Larkin Hansen also covers the intricate process of acquiring organic certification and other business considerations important to a profitable operation. Discover the rewarding satisfaction of running a successful and sustainable organic farm.
The Rodale Book of Composting: Simple methods to improve your soil, recycle waste, grow healthier plants, and create an earth-friendly garden, 2nd rev. ed. by
An essential guide to composting for all gardeners and environmentally conscious people This revised edition of The Rodale Book of Composting includes all the latest in new techniques, technology, and equipment. Gardeners know composting is the best way to feed the soil and turn food scraps into fresh produce, but even urbanites can get on board thanks to programs like compost pickup and citywide food waste initiatives-there's no better way to reduce landfill waste (and subsequent emissions) and dependence on fossil fuels while nourishing the earth. The Rodale Book of Composting offers easy-to-follow instructions for making and using compost; helpful tips for apartment dwellers, suburbanites, farmers, and community leaders; and ecologically sound solutions to growing waste-disposal problems.
The Winter Harvest Handbook : Year Round Vegetable Production Using Deep-Organic Techniques and Unheated Greenhouses by
"Brimming with ingenuity, hope, and eminently practical advice, The Winter Harvest Handbook is an indispensable contribution."--Michael Pollan "Useful, practical, sensible, and enlightening information for the home gardener."--Martha Stewart With The Winter Harvest Handbook, everyone can have access to organic farming pioneer Elliot Coleman's hard-won experience. Gardeners and farmers can use the innovative, highly successful methods Coleman describes in this comprehensive handbook to raise crops throughout the coldest of winters. Building on the techniques that hundreds of thousands of farmers and gardeners adopted from Coleman's The New Organic Grower and Four-Season Harvest, this book focuses on growing produce of unparalleled freshness and quality in customized unheated or, in some cases, minimally heated, movable plastic greenhouses. Inside, you'll find Coleman's clear, concise, and meticulous details [including many accompanying illustrations] on: Greenhouse construction and maintenance Planting schedules Crop management Harvesting practices Marketing methods Coleman's painstaking research and experimentation with more than 30 different crops will be valuable to small farmers, homesteaders, and experienced home gardeners who seek to expand their production seasons. A passionate advocate for the revival of small-scale sustainable farming, Coleman provides a practical model for supplying fresh, locally grown produce during the winter season, even in climates where conventional wisdom says it "just can't be done." "The incomparable Eliot Coleman is back."--The New York Times "A Renaissance man for a new generation."--Dan Barber
When conducting a SUBJECT SEARCH of the MSU Libraries online catalog for plants specific to Michigan, use the following subject headings:
Algae - Michigan
Annuals (Plants) - Michigan
Botany - Michigan
Climbing plants - Michigan
Ferns - Michigan
Floriculture - Michigan
Flowers - Michigan
Freshwater plants - Michigan
Fruit culture - Michigan
Gardening - Michigan
Gardens - Michigan
Horticulture - Michigan
Mosses - Michigan
Nurseries (Horticulture) - Michigan
Perennials - Michigan
Plant conservation - Michigan
Plants - Michigan
School Gardens - Michigan
Shrubs - Michigan
Trees - Michigan
Trees in Cities - Michigan
Vegetables - Michigan
Wild flowers - Michigan
SpringerLink Ebook Packages
The license allows MSU patrons to download complete chapters and in many instances complete books on this platform. Note that all chapters and authors across all Springer ebooks and journals can be found by searching the platform.