Ask a Librarian
Confused?
Try the MSU Library Ask a Librarian Service available via chat, IM, email, phone, and in person at the reference desk.
Photos
AP Images : Also called Associated Press Multimedia Archive. Includes an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the AP news service. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards, but many historical images are also included. All images include descriptive captions and source information.
Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google : Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google. Heh, it may not be from a newspaper but it compliments the AP Images collection.
Library Basics
The MSU Libraries home page is your gateway to the extensive resources and services of the Main Library and its branches. Search the online catalog or explore our electronic resources pages and discover online indexes, full-text journal articles, e-books, and much more.
Undergraduate Library Portal. This "launching page" was specially designed for undergraduates to help them explore the resources and services of the MSU Libraries. A Graduate and Faculty Library Portal are also available.
Research Basic Modules. (Note: Requires Adobe Flash Player.) A series of Camtasia tutorials by Sara Miller to help undergraduates understand the basics of library research, including:
- Popular, Scholarly, or Trade?: Video Tutorial (4:12). Learn the difference between popular, scholarly, and trade publications.
- Searching With A Purpose: Video Tutorial (6:55). Learn how to select a research topic or inquiry and begin your search for information.
- Identifying Credible Web Sites: Video Tutorial (4:40). Tips on how to critically examine a web site and how to evaluate authority, accuracy, currency, and other criteria.
- Citing Sources - Avoiding Plagiarism: Video Tutorial (3:00). What is plagiarism and when do you need a citation.
- The Anatomy Of A Citation: Video Tutorial (4:47). Learn how to identify the different parts of a citation.
Fast Track to Library Research: Conducting a Literature Review : This guide contains videos, seminar class information, and print instructions to assist graduate students who plan to complete a literature review.
Social Sciences Collections Coordinator |
Jon Harrison100 Main Library
E. Lansing, MI 48824-1048
(517) 432-6123, ext. 123
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants & Related Resources (Funding Center), Classical Studies, Criminal Justice, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, News, Political Science, Social Sciences (General)
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait