Where do I start to search for a journal article?
To locate journal articles you need to begin your search in an online index (subject database) for the journal literature on your topic. From the MSU libraries home page, http://lib.msu.edu, choose E-resources under Quick Links, and then choose Indexes on the left-hand side of the page. If you are not sure which Index to search , there is a heading for Animal Science under Browse Indexes by Subject, or choose an Index from those listed below and click on the title. Once in the Index, enter the key terms that you are looking for, or combine terms you would like to find in an article.
- CAB Abstracts
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database. - PubMed
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
-
- OMIA - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
Via the MSU libraries choose the PubMed index. In the box next to the word Search at the top of the page use the pull down menu to find OMIA. Click on OMIA, then enter your terms.
- OMIA - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
- ScienceDirect
Provides access to full text of over 600 journals to which MSU Libraries have subscriptions, from 1995 to present. Also includes access to abstracts of articles in non-subscribed journals and pre-1995 issues. - AGRICOLA
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics. - Biological Abstracts
Indexes the biological and medical peer-reviewed journal literature.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide (1935 & earlier to the present), is the world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Coverage includes more than 670,388 bibliographic records many of which include abstracts. Most of the records in this database are from Wildlife Review Abstracts, formerly Wildlife Review. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, disease, ecotourism, zoology and much more.
- Zoological Record
Contains bibliographic references covering all aspects of zoology. Includes information from journals, books, newsletter, and conference proceedings. - Animal Health and Production Compendium
The Animal Health and Production Compendium is a mixed multi-media reference tool, focusing on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry, and breeding. Includes modules in poultry, pigs, and small and large ruminants, with text, pictures, graphs, maps, diagnostic aids, etc.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
