This is the "Purpose or Scope of the Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy: U.S. Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy: U.S. Documents  

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=87746 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of the Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

A. Purpose of Collection

The Michigan State University Libraries are located in the Eighth Congressional District. The Libraries have been a depository since 1907. The Government Documents Department selects a high percentage of items available (between 75 and 80 percent in recent years) and serves the needs of most patrons, both university and community, with materials held in the collection.

Michigan State was founded in 1855 as the Agricultural College of the State of Michigan and was the prototype for 69 land-grant institutions. The University’s colleges include: Agriculture and Natural Resources, Arts and Letters, The Eli Broad College of Business and the Eli Broad Graduate School of Management, Communication Arts and Sciences, Law, Education, Engineering, Human Ecology, Human Medicine, James Madison College, Natural Science, Nursing, Osteopathic Medicine, Social Science and Veterinary Medicine.

East Lansing is primarily an academic community. Major employers outside the University and in neighboring Lansing, include General Motors, the state government and service industries. The 2006-2008 American Community Survey estimates indicate that 44.2% of the employed civilian population in East Lansing work in management, professional and related occupations, 25.1% in service occupations, and 25.2 in sales and office occupations. The population is 81.9% white, 6.1% black or African American and 7.9% Asian. In 2006-2008, the average total population of East Lansing was 45,931.

The Eighth Congressional District incorporates Lansing and Ingham County as well as Southwest Flint and Livingston County. MSU shares depository responsibilities with three other libraries in the district: MSU College of Law Library, Thomas M. Cooley Law School Library and the Library of Michigan.

 

B.Scope of Collection

To serve both University and community patrons, items are selected with both current use and future research in mind. Most items offered will be appropriate for the collection except ephemera, forms, posters, internal manuals and handbooks of no general interest, and pamphlet-type materials.

Item selection is the responsibility of the U.S. Documents Librarian, who may seek input from appropriate subject bibliographers, faculty members or others. The Documents Librarian carries out regular, ongoing review of item selections. The Documents Librarian performs a zero-based review of item selection at least once every five years.

The Libraries purchase non-depository indexes, finding tools, full-text collections and reference works in all formats as appropriate to provide better access to depository materials. Current subscriptions include CIS Index/Proquest Congressional, Proquest Statistical, Social Explorer and World News Connection. Full-text collections include the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection and U.S. Executive Branch Documents (in microfiche and online).

The department also purchases selected collections of non-depository materials and their indexes to provide users with government documents not available through depository channels. These include Declassified Documents and the non-depository collection of ASI microfiche. Other departments such as Main Library Reference and the Business Library also purchase materials that supplement or enhance access to depository and non-depository government information.

U.S. federal government publications not distributed through depository channels are acquired by gift, purchase or directly from the publishing agency by the Documents Librarian and bibliographers in the appropriate subject area. These publications fall into two categories: publications distributed only electronically to depositories but also available in print or other tangible format, or government publications not distributed in any format to depositories (ie “fugitive” publications). Publications in the first category are generally not acquired for the Documents collection to avoid duplication of content in multiple formats, unless the electronic format is difficult to use or does not meet the present and future needs of the user communities in some other way. Tangible and online fugitive publications are actively sought. There is consultation between the Documents Librarian and subject bibliographers to avoid duplication of materials and effort.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip