On campus branch or format collections
Special Collections in the Main Library houses older and more valuable biological resources.
The art library contains some materials related to science topics, such as wildlife photography and scientific illustration
There is significant overlap in interests and topics withe the Map Library, especially as it relates to GPS. Historical and natural resource maps in particular are an important component of our collections
Regional or network resources
Libraries at the University of Michigan and Wayne State University both have strong biological collections, with the U. of Michigan having the larger collection. Other strong collections in the region include those at Ohio State University, University of Illinois, Indiana University, and University of Wisconsin. In addition, the Big Ten Academic Alliance has strong collections in the biological sciences, including OA resources. We depend heavily on these resources.
Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements:
Because of the interdisciplinary nature of biological research today, many biological materials may fall under more than one collection policy. Other collection development policies that cover some of the biological sciences and overlap somewhat with this policy include:
In addition, with an increase in collecting of non-English languages, more collaboration will need to occur with Area Studies librarians to accurately evaluate content and coverage. This conversations will be ongoing and will continue to evolve.