This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Botany" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Botany  

Written by: Emily Barton Date Drafted: 12/5/2005 Date Revised: 6/2006 Date Revised: 3/2009 by Suzanne Teghtmeyer
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=89563 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs:

The MSU Libraries support the research and teaching needs of faculty and students through the doctoral level in the plant sciences. MSU offers degrees in plant biology through the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. In addition, this collection will support the research needs of the W. J. Beal Botanical Garden and the MSU Herbarium.

B. History of the Collection /Existing Strengths and Emphases

Michigan Agricultural College was established in 1855, and soon after the Department of Botany and Vegetable Physiology in 1859. The department has evolved and continues the study of plant science and pathology. Some areas of collection that are emphasized are basic plant science; structural botany; local, regional and international studies of flora and individual plant species; systematics; plant communities; and physiological ecology. All of the related collections are considered to be historical collections.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip