This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Computer Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Computer Science  

Written By: Julia Perez, Revised by Tom Volkening Date Drafted: 2/1/89 Date Revised: 9/20/06
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=89571 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs:

The computer science collection supports the research and instruction needs of the Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) and Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) Departments in the College of Engineering and to a lesser extent, the Mathematics Department and the Computer Game Design and Development program. The collection also serves the general information needs of faculty, staff, and students across the campus. The collection is divided between the Main Library and the Engineering Library. Historically the materials meeting the general broad information needs of campus users are housed in the Main Library and materials supporting the needs of CSE and ECE departments are located in the Engineering Library. The Engineering Librarian selects materials for both locations.

The CSE Department offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs

through the Ph.D. level. Required undergraduate courses for the CSE Department include courses in algorithms; computer organization and architecture; discrete structures; informatics; operating systems; programming; and software engineering. Graduate studies focus on artificial intelligence computer architectures, computer vision, evolutionary computing, advanced programming, pattern recognition, and software engineering. Research strengths include software engineering, formal methods, mobile computing, distributed systems, computer networking, biometrics, image processing, multimedia technologies, genetic algorithms, machine intelligence, and robotics. The CSE and ECE departments offer a joint degree program in computer engineering In Fall 2005 the Department of Telecommunication, Information Studies and Media launched an interdisciplinary program in Game Design and Development. This program draws on the resources of three departments including the Computer Science and Engineering.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip