This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Environmental Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Environmental Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=89578 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

  • A. Curricular, Research and Programmatic Needs

    The collection supports the curricular and research needs of faculty with environmental science and policy interests, specifically the Environmental Science and Policy Program (ESPP) faculty, and provides resources for students at the undergraduate and graduate levels. The ESPP is composed of over 160 faculty from 11 colleges across campus. Current faculty and graduate student research interests and applied experience in environmental science and policy cross a broad spectrum of disciplines and include agriculture, anthropology, engineering, geography, natural resources, political science, sociology, and zoology. This is reflected in the broad range of materials selected for the collection.
  •  

    Related Degrees, Specializations, and Programs

     

    • Doctoral specialization, Environmental Science and Policy Program
    • BS, Environmental Studies and Applications - Department of Community, Agriculture, Recreation, and Resource Studies (CARRS), College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
    • Undergraduate specialization, Environmental Studies - Residential Initiative on the Study of the Environment (RISE)
    • Undergraduate specialization, Environmental Studies - College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, College of Communication Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering, College of Natural Science, and College of Social Science
    • Interdisciplinary concentration, Environmental Policy - Interdisciplinary Studies in Social Science

     

  • B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

    The environmental studies collection is highly interdisciplinary. In the past, all bibliographers were responsible for buying materials in this subject area (as it pertained to their disciplines). In the mid-1990's, it was felt that some areas relating to environmental studies were falling through the cracks. So, the EVP fund was set up to purchase materials on environmental topics across all disciplines.
  • Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip