This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: English and American Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: English and American Literature  

Page Coordinator: Michael Rodriguez Last updated: 11-05-2008
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=90101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs

The English and American Literature collection supports the instructional and research needs of many programs at Michigan State University. Though the core of the collection supports activities of the English Department (which has the greatest enrollment of undergraduate majors in the College of Arts and Letters), studies in programs such as Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures, and James Madison College are also centrally located in the study of Literature, as well as programs in IAH, African American Studies, and others. The university’s commitment to interdisciplinary study makes this collection central to much undergraduate education across all colleges. Also, because of the University’s philosophy and emphasis on interdisciplinary education, and because interdisciplinary study is important to “Postmodern” education, there are faculty publishing and doing research that touch this collection area in nearly all colleges.

B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases

Including what exists in Special Collections, the collection of English and American Literature at MSU contains materials much older than the library itself. Primary texts and editions of those texts span the entirety of Western literature in print, as well as criticism and literary theory. Through approval programs and individual selection responsibilities across the library, the collection has been kept current and contemporary.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip