Purpose or Scope of Collection
A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic Needs
-
The linguistics collection, including materials for theoretical
linguistics and applied linguistics, serves the Department of
Linguistics and Germanic, Slavic, Asian, and African Languages, the
Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) Program, the
Second Language Studies (SLS) Program, the linguistics-related
curricular needs of the Department of English and the English Language
Center. The Linguistics Program offers a B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. in
linguistics, and an M.A. in Teaching English to Speakers of Other
Languages (TESOL). The interdisciplinary program in Second Language
Studies offers a Ph.D. The English Language Center offers the Intensive
English Program (IEP) and English for Academic Purposes (EAP) Program,
both of which are non-degreed.
-
The linguistics collection comprises the categories of phonetics,
phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, philosophy of language,
sociolinguistics, dialects and variations, psycholinguistics,
neurolinguistics, first language acquisition, second language
acquisition/learning, pragmatics, discourse analysis, computational
linguistics, and teaching English as a second language.
B. History of the Collection/Existing Strengths and Emphases
-
The collection was considered part of the Literature/English &
American collection until 1996 when a separate fund was established to
collect materials in theoretical and applied linguistics and English
writing/rhetoric. Several essential linguistics journals were added to
the collection in 1998 as a result of a serials review project, with
consultation of linguistics faculty. Some more core serials were added
to the linguistics collection in 2000 at the faculty's recommendation.
Materials of various subjects were added to the collection to fulfill
the curricular needs for the Linguistic Society of America 2003
Institute held on campus, such as linguistic corpora, contact
linguistics, second language acquisitions, sociolinguistics, and
Japanese linguistics. Some journals in second language studies were
added in 2005 as a result of a serials review project in consultation
with the faculty in linguistics, TESOL and SLS. In 2005, the
responsibility of collecting for English writing/rhetoric was
transferred to the literature bibliographer along with the
appropriation.

Loading...
