This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Browsing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Browsing  

Written by Jane Arnold; December 5, 2005 Page Coordinator: Terrie Wilson Last updated: 05-14-2008
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=90232 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

1. Curricular/Research/Progammatic needs

This collection is peripheral to research and curriculum need, but sometimes duplicates or supplements collections housed elsewhere in the Libraries system.

2. History of the collection

Browsing has been around since about 1973. It was created as a collection that would serve the University community as a kind of current-titles-only “public library”. As such it features books with sound academic or subject authority written for the “lay” reader. Fiction includes both the popular and literary. Browsing tries to maintain a balance of fiction to non-fiction but in fact is heavily fiction; many non-fiction titles end up being cancelled because they are duplicated elsewhere in the collection. In contrast, fiction, at least in the past, was rarely duplicated because we did not attempt to collect popular genres like mystery or historical romance for Main. It has been a policy not to put duplicate or added location titles in Browsing, but this may be reviewed in order to inprove the balance.

Selections are made pre-publication from Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times best-sellers list and other lists of current interest. These sources are sufficient to identify titles of likely interest. Patron requests are usually honored if recent and in print.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip