This is the "Funding Center" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Funding Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Funding Center  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=90377 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Funding Center Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Funding Center

The Funding Center has been a distinct part of the Michigan State University Libraries reference services since the summer of 1978, when it was designated a regional cooperating collection of the Foundation Center, the fourth such collection in the state of Michigan. From the beginning, it has collected materials received through membership in the Foundation Center's network (books, pamphlets, aperture cards, etc.) as well as supplementary materials acquired from other sources concerning funders, fundraising, proposal writing, nonprofit administration, philanthropy, and related topics.

In August 1999, a proposal was made and accepted to merge the financial aid and internship materials from a separate College Guide Collection with the existing Foundation Collection and to assign the new collection the name Funding Center as a part of the general reorganization of reference taking place at the time. As a result of this merger, the new Funding Center will acquire information products about financial aid and interships related to undergraduates, graduates, and postdocs to supplement the information about grants for academia and the nonprofit sector that was always included in the collection.

The Funding Center supervisor has and will continue to order current directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, electronic databases, periodicals, and other related reference products to support this collection as required by its continued membership in the Foundation Center network of regional cooperating libraries (now up to 12 in Michigan). In addition, the Funding Center Supervisor will continue to hold periodic training sessions in the library as required, post information about the collection and the materials it contains (see http://www.lib.msu.edu/harris23/grants/index.htm ), provide training sessions for non-MSU users and organizations as part of the university's overall land grant and outreach mission, and participate in annual training opportunities sponsored by the Foundation Center and the Council of Michigan Foundations.

The Foundation Center recognized the MSU Libraries Funding Center in its 1995 Annual Report as an exemplary library "vigorously exploring new technologies in its quest to better serve its users" and made numerous reference to the Grants and Related Resources Web Pages in its The Foundation Center's Guide to Grantseeking on the Web in 1998.

The Funding Center is part of the Foundation Center network of regional cooperating collections.

 

Funding Center Supervisor Contact Information

Jon Harrison
Funding Center Supervisor
Social Sciences Collections Coordinator
Michigan State University Libraries
100 Library
E. Lansing, MI 48824-1048
E-mail: harris23@mail.lib.msu.edu
Phone : 884-0855

Research Guide

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip