This is the "Purpose and Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Travel" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Travel  

Statement provided by Denise Forro on 9 March 2000. Created 10 March 2000; last modified 20 March 2006. Last updated: 05-09-2008
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2010 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=90386 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Purpose and Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose and Scope of Collection

Historically, travel reference materials were scattered throughout the reference area and, although of great demand, inconvenient to use. The decision to centralize travel materials was based on the desire to make the materials more conveniently accessible. The travel collection will serve as an information source for both the University population and the public and as an aid in reference assistance.

Reference will support the travel collection at the basic level providing all current information on travel, including materials on transportation schedules, accommodations, and activities. These materials will be purchased in the English language. The exception to this would be in cases where the only travel materials exist in a foreign language. These would be reviewed for selection.

Reference will collect many different types of materials for the travel collection. Guides, books, booklets, and schedules will be obtained. No duplicates will be purchased.

Review of this collection will be an ongoing process.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip