Keeping in mind that free information can be worth what you pay for it, here are some free web sites suitable for academic research on witchcraft.
Witchcraft Bibliography Project Online was begun by Jeffrey Merrick, while a student at Yale University, continued by Richard M. Golden at University of North Texas, and is now offered by Jonathan Durrant, University of Glamorgan. Focus is on early modern European witchcraft, from the Middle Ages into the 18th century, but includes materials on Salem too. Multilingual. No annotations. Chronology. Imprints back to 17th c. cited. Articles, essays, books, theses cited. Links to other web sites.
Witches in Early Modern England is a project that "designs and deploys strategically intersecting, innovative, and experimental digital tools to allow for robust searching and pattern finding within the corpus of texts relating to early modern witchcraft."
ORB, Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies contains encyclopedia information, medieval texts for classroom use, bibliographies, web links. Links here to the other principal medieval studies web sites: Labyrinth, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, Netserf, Argos, Worldwide Web Virtual Library medieval.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook is a cooperative effort of scholars to establish on the internet an online textbook source for medieval studies. It contains: 1)the ORB Encyclopedia, a chronological and geographical index of essays, bibliographies, images, documents, links and other resources; 2) the ORB Textbook Library of full-length texts in medieval studies for classroom use; 3) ORB Reference Shelf of links to excerpts and full texts from primary and secondary sources in ORB or elsewhere on the internet; 4) Resources for Teaching, such as sample syllabi, study questions, writing guides, subject specific bibliographies; 5) external links to other web sites; 6) resources for non-specialists; and 7) E-Texts, new transcriptions and/or translations of important medieval texts that have not previously been accessible in print or electronic format. There are also links to several other principal medieval studies web sites: Labyrinth, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, Netserf, Argos, World Wide Web Virtual Library Medieval.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers articles from 1994 on from some 400 journals, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages (450-1500) in Europe, North Africa, and Middle East. Publications may be in English, French, German, Spanish or Italian (Italian only since 2001).
Early Modern England Source is designed to assist historians, and others who have an interest in history, in locating information, principally from the Internet, for the history of early modern England and Britain. Among these pages you will find information regarding recent publications, resources for research, reviews and abstracts. Additionally, this site provides announcements concerning conferences, seminars, and calls for papers.
Early Modern Women Database links to web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas; focus is on the period ca. 1500-1800. Resources selected by librarians at Univ. of Maryland Libraries.
Gods and Scholars Cornell University Library hosts Gods and Scholars, an online exhibition of diverse archival material on religion. Browse this collection, which includes religious texts, art, objects, and architecture, by a variety of themes, including the The Study and Practice of Religion, Witchcraft and Witch Hunts, and Reformation. Cornell has a noted witchcraft collection.
Salem Witch Museum In Salem, Mass.
Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive and Transcription Project Site lists a series of links that open to a generous array of maps, letters, court documents, sermons, literature, etc. which paint a vivid portrait of this notorious episode of American history. Documents & Transcriptions collects links to court transcripts, records, and miscellaneous files from a variety of regional archives. Users can access such items as digital transcripts of individual case files (depositions, interrogations, indictments, etc.), petitions, expense accounts, and bills. Historical Maps lists links to contemporary maps of Salem Village and neighboring areas. Archival Collections organizes documents by sources such as the Massachusetts Historical Society and the Boston Public Library. Contemporary Books links to selected literature of the trials and witchcraft in general. Developed by University of Virginia.
Salem Witchcraft Site From Tulane University. Provides data about certain aspects of the outbreak and demonstrates how this data can be used to further our understanding of events. The website takes a "learn by doing," or "inquiry," approach to learning. It formulates questions, explores solutions, and encourages users to pursue further understanding on their own.
History Highway: a 21st Century Guide to Internet Resources Reference and DMC 4 West (CD) D 16.117 .H55 2006
An annotated bibliography of web sites.
History of Witchcraft, a Magical Podcast of Witch Crazes and Moral Panics
by Samuel Hume. The podcast is the passion project of a PhD student from Scotland. Hume has a running bibliography on the podcast's website, which is very helpful for listeners who want to refer back to something or are looking for academic and primary materials on the topic.
Prof. Pavlac's Women's History Resource, European Witch Hunts
Prof. Brian Pavlac is at King's College, U. of London. The European Witch Hunts page is just one part of a huge site on the history of women. Provides information on theories about the causes of them, errors and myths about them, a timeline, information about torture, an annotated bibliography, and links to other useful websites on the topic.