Skip to main content
Michigan State University

E-books and E-readers at the MSU Libraries: Major Collections

Other Major Contemporary Ebook Collections

These collections support unlimited printing and downloading of PDFs (usually in individual chapters) with no simultaneous user limits for online reading.

Major Ebook Collections

What ebook collections support downloading of entire books for offline reading?

The Ebrary and EBSCOhost multidisciplinary ebook collections support downloading of entire books for offline reading on computers, e-readers, tablets and mobile devices in PDF and/or EPUB format.

Most other ebook collections support downloading of PDFs (usually chapter by chapter) that can be read on e-readers and most devices.

To download or checkout entire books from the Ebrary and EBSCO collections:

a) Create an Ebrary or EBSCOhost personal account

b) Create an Adobe account.

c) To use a computer to read or download e-books, install Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) on a computer (PC/Mac)

   To read on a mobile device, download Bluefire Reader (or other compatible) app. Authorize the Bluefire app with your Adobe account credentials.

d) Either search and download directly from a device OR search and download to a computer and read on the computer or transfer to a device.

See below for specific instructions.

A book may be available on multiple platforms with different use restrictions on each. If you are unable to print or download a book on one platform, check if another platform offers better options. Use the MSU Library Catalog to find all electronic versions of a book.

 

Major Ebook Collections with Use Limitations

What ebook collections have access or use limitations?

For Ebrary and EBSCO, restrictions on users, printing and downloading are listed on the book's detail page. Examples: Ebrary and EBSCO book detail page

 

Platform

Account Required?

Read Online

Print

Download PDF of book section or chapter

Checkout for offline reading of entire book on e-reader, tablet, phone?

Mobile App Available?

Holds/ Wait List?

Ebrary Academic Complete

Multidisciplinary

Yes, for 7-14 day   checkout.

No, for chapter downloads.

Yes.

Varies: 1, 3 or unlimited users

Yes.

Page limits determined by publisher.

Yes (image PDF).

Select a chapter from the Table of Contents, then select the download button.

 

No for single-user books.

Yes for multi-user books from Most publishers.

Download Instructions

Transfer Instructions

7-14 days; Early return possible

Maximum 10 books per user

No.

Bluefire recommended

No

EBSCOhost

Multidisciplinary

 

 

Yes. To checkout

Yes.

Varies: 1, 3 or unlimited

Former Netlibrary books are usually 1 user access only.

Yes.

Page limits determined by publisher.

Instructions

Yes.

Page limits determined by publisher.

 

No for single-user books

Yes for most multi-user books.

Instructions

PDF or EPub (usually PDF)

14 days; Early return possible

 

Yes (iOS, Android, Nook and Kindle)

Yes

HathiTrust

Multidisciplinary

(older works)

Yes. To print or download entire book in PDF (public domain works only)

 

Yes. Public domain works only

Yes.

Yes. Public domain works only

No.

No.

Not applicable

Clinical Key

Health Sciences

Yes. To view book in PDF format.

Yes.

Unlimited users

Yes.

Yes. Individual chapters (no limit)

No.

No. (Use FirstConsult or ScienceDirect App)

 

 

Safari Business and Tech Books Online

No.

Yes.

Unlimited users

Yes. 1 page at a time

No.

No.

No.

Not applicable

 

 

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University