Admin Sign In 

Education Statistics Sources 

A guide to finding education related statistics.
Last update: Aug 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/edstats  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics on the Web            Print Page
  
 

Statistics Resources

Bruce Weaver's Page of Statistics Resources  Not much information here about Bruce or why he posts and updates the list, but there is a very long list of useful links about statistics.

Web Pages that Perform Statistical Calculations   This site, created and maintained by John C. Pezzullo, contains links to interactive web pages that perform statistical calculations. Together they comprise a powerful, conveniently-accessible, and free multi-platform statistical software package. This page also contains links to several web-based statistical textbooks.

 

Librarian

Kate Corby

Kate Corby

Contact Info:
Main Library Reference
(517) 432-6123 x121
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Psychology

 
 

Education Statistics Web Sites

Government Sources       Non-government Sources       MSU Data              

Government Sources

The Census Bureau, Education has a beautifully uncluttered page that lists the major areas of education related statistics they can provide. Although one would expect the Census Bureau's data to be individually focused, there is also some school and school district data here.

For those interested in international statistics, Census has compiled a page with links for  national statistical agencies around the world: http://www.census.gov/aboutus/stat_int.html

The Michigan Department of Education has an information rich Web site. Most of the statistical analyses researchers will need are loaded and readily available.  Among the titles available:  Michigan K-12 School Districts Ranked By Selected Financial Data

The U.S. Department of Education home page offers quick links to both Facts and Figures, which leads to the NCES' Fast Facts page and Research and Statistics, which leads to a more general page of links.

The National Center for Education Statistics makes a great deal of statistical information available. Their server includes .PDF files for the complete text of several statistical publications including; Condition of Education and Digest of Education Statistics.

Look under Survey and Program Areas for major data sets (IPEDS, NEAP, etc.) grouped by population studied.

The TIMSS (Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study) is another highlight.

College Navigator is aimed at students exploring college options but has some good basic statistics on specific institutions.

To facilitate drilling down to the state level, the Department's EROD service (Education Resource Organizations Directory) has posted a list of State Departments of Education for all fifty states.

The OECD Education Database  provides internationally comparable data on key aspects of the education systems. On-line access features data on: educational finance, students enrolled, new entrants to a level of education, graduates, and educational personnel.

Unesco offers a couple of data sources:

UNESCO Institute for Statistics  contains global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. See the "Core Theme" of education in the column on the left.

The World Data on Education  from the UNESCO International Bureau of Education  provides data for international comparison. Data contained in the country by country profiles have been organized on the basis of a common structure so as to facilitate the searching, analysing and systematizing of available information.

WebCASPAR  from the National Science Foundation provides easy access to a large body of statistical data resources for science and engineering (S&E) at U.S. academic institutions. WebCASPAR emphasizes S&E, but its data resources also provide information on non-S&E fields and higher education in general.

 


 

NonGovernmental Sources

Education Week's Quality Counts   Contains state by state data on education quality. See also Technology Counts

Faculty Salaries  AAUP and the Chronicle of Higher Education provide information on faculty salaries by rank at more than 1,400 institutions. The Chronicle covers faculty salaries annually, but appears not to have pulled this information together on this part of their website since 2002.

Grapevine  A national database of tax support for higher education hosted by the Illinois State University College of Education. Individual state reports include current fiscal year and previous fiscal year state tax appropriations for operating expenses and a 50-state summary table showing state totals for the current year, the previous two years, a ten-year figure, and percentages of change over one, two, and ten years.

Higher Education Research Institute (HERI)  HERI is based in the Graduate School of Education & Information Studies at UCLA. Its web site provides information from surveys of faculty and students on such topics as attitudes toward technology, service learning and the college experience. The Institute's holdings include more than a hundred datasets that are regularly maintained for analysis of postsecondary education.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research   ICPSR maintains and provides access to an archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. In addition, ICPSR provides user support to assist researchers in identifying relevant data for analysis and in conducting their research projects.

NationMaster.com  Created by Rapid Intelligence, a web tech company based in Sydney, Australia. Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA Factbook and other statistical sources. All statistics on the site provide source references.

National Survey of Student Engagement  The National Survey of Student Engagement(NSSE) is designed to obtain, on an annual basis, information from scores of colleges and universities nationwide about student participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development. The results will provide an estimate of how undergraduates spend their time and what they gain from attending college.

SchoolMatters  Standard & Poor’s School Evaluation Service provides free access to state by state data about schools and written analytical reports. SES has also developed the Performance Cost Index, to help measure schools' return on resources. No registration is required.

SchoolDataDirect  An online service of the State Education Data Center, the SEDC provides public education data focuses on two work strands: (1) serving as a national advocacy leader for quality education data collection, standards, and use; and (2) serving as the nation's provider of a free, easy-to-use website featuring state education data and analytic tools.

Teacher Rules, Roles and Rights  National Council on Teacher Quality's online research portal containing data on collective bargaining agreements, board policies, and teacher handbooks from the nation's 50 largest school districts. The database provides answers to over 300 questions, ranging from salary and benefits to how a teacher gets evaluated or download the full text of a teacher contract, just the salary schedule, even the school calendar.

 

 


 

Information about MSU

 

Enrollment and Term End Reports The Registrar's Office posts statistics about students and their grades. Information available back to 1996.

Office of Planning and Budgets InfoPages The InfoPages are a complex database of information about the university budget, faculty, courses, degrees conferred, students and credit hours.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait