Skip to main content
Michigan State University

English Medieval Manuscripts on Microform: English Medieval Manuscripts on Microform

This is a guide to English medieval manuscripts on microform in the M.S.U. Libraries. Location in the Library is Copy Center/PRR/Microforms, 2nd floor west wing. Last updated: 10-31-2007

English Medieval Manuscripts on Microform

Libary location is Microforms/PRR/Copy Center, 2nd floor West Wing, Main Library.  Microcopy Guides is a section of guidebooks to micro sets located near the Copy Center.

The Bestiary. [filmstrip] film 18408

1 filmstrip; 70 frames. Reproductions of English illuminations, late 12th century.

Bede's Life of St. Cuthbert BX 4700 .C8

4 microfiches; 1 booklet. Booklet in Microcopy Guides at BX 4700 .C8. Reproduction of Bede's Vita Sancti Cuthberti made at Durham ca. 1125. In Latin with introduction in English.

Bodleian Library. Codices Viri Admodum Reverendi Thomae Tanneri, S.T.P. Episcopi Asaphensis, Complectens. Z 8858.6 f.B6 1966

British Literary Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library, Series One, Medieval Age, 1150-1500. 1984- film 19523

49 reels Primarily in English with some Latin and French. There is a guide to the set in Microcopy Guides section titled British Literary Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library with call number Z 6611 .L7 B69 1984 ser. 1.

Catholic Church. The Franciscan Missal. ND 3375 .F7

17 microfiches and 1 booklet. ND 3375 .F7 Microcopy Guides Microfiche in Latin with introduction in English. Original is Bodleian M.S. Douce 313.

Catholic Church. The Ormesby Psalter ND 3375 .O7

11 microfiches and 1 booklet. ND 3375 .O7 Microcopy Guides Microfiche in Latin with introduction in English. Original is Bodleian M.S. Douce 366.

Catholic Church. The Sherborne Missal, Reproductions of Full pages and Details of Ornament from the Missal Executed between the Years 1396 and 1407 for Sherborne Abbey Church and Now Preserved in the Library of the Duke of Northumberland at Alnwick Castle. film 447 r. 20-176

Corpus Christi College. University of Cambridge. Mediaeval Manuscript Collections, Section V, History. film 27909 38 reels
Corpus Christi College. University of Cambridge. Mediaeval Manuscript Collections, Section VI, ‘Medica' and Natural Sciences. film 27896 11 reels

Z 6621 .C174 C67 Microcopy Guides. For additional assistance with both of these sets see A Descriptive Catalogue of the Manuscripts in the Library of Corpus Christi College, Z 6621 .C18 C8 Main

Cockerell, Sir Sydney. Two East Anglian Psalters at the Bodleian Library, Oxford, the Ormesby Psalter, M.S. Douce 366; the Bromholm Psalter, M.S. Ashmole 1523... film 447 r. 23-185

Early English Books I (Pollard and Redgrave STC 1), 1475-1640. film STC 1

This vast microfilm set reproduces materials listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short Title Catalog of Books Printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 (Microcopy Guides Z 2002 .A27 and also Reference). The Microforms Library also has Early English Books, 1475-1640, a Partial List by STC Numbers in 8 volumes and Early English Books, Cross Index. These are in Microcopy Guides at Z 2002 .A273 and Z 2002 .A273 Index. In addition, the online catalog has individual records for the books represented in this set. The beginning of the call number is STC 1 followed by the reel number. EEBO Early English Books Online also contains these materials.

La Estoire de Saint Aedward le Rei, the Life of St. Edward the Confessor, Reproduced in Facsimile from the Unique Manuscript (Cambridge University Ee 3.59) Together with Some Pages of the Life of the St. Albans at Trinity College, Dublin... film 447 r. 20-175

French versification of Latin prose.

The Guthlac Roll; Scenes from the Life of St. Guthlac of Crowland by a 12th Century Artist, Reproduced from Harley Roll Y6 in the British Museum. film 447 r.24-189

Lincoln Cathedral. Library. The Medieval Manuscripts, Section I, the Illuminated Manuscripts. film 14675 10 reels.
Lincoln Cathedral. Library. The Medieval Manuscripts, Section II, Law and Administration film 15251 11 reels.
Lincoln Cathedral. Library. The Medieval Manuscripts, Section III, Secular Studies. film 15240 13 reels

These are reproductions of the original Latin manuscripts in the Lincoln Cathedral Library. There is a guide to the collection which is on microfilm (number 15252) titled: The Medieval Manuscripts Collections [Guide to the Collection].

The Macregol, or Rushworth Gospels. ND 3361 .G7

9 microfiches and 1 booklet. ND 3361 .G7 Microcopy Guides. Manuscript originally written ca 800 A.D. The Anglo-Saxon interlinear glosses were added in the 10th c.

Pageants of Richard Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, Reproduced in Facsimile from the Cottonian M.S. Julius E Iv, in the British Museum... film 447 r. 16-150

Terence Comedies... PA 6755

7 microfiches and 1 booklet. PA 6755 Microcopy Guides. Latin with English introduction. Original is Bodleian M.S. Auct. F 2.13 copied in the 12th century probably at St. Albans from a Carolingian version of a late antique illustrated manuscript of the plays of Terence.

Trinity College. University of Cambridge. Library. The Medieval Manuscript Collection, Including Some Post-Medieval Manucripts, Section IV, Illuminated Manuscripts. film 15239 45 reels
Trinity College. University of Cambridge. Library. The Medieval Manuscript Collection, Including Some Post-Medieval Manucripts, Section VI, Secular Manuscripts. film 16356 49 reels
Trinity College Apocalypse... film 447 r. 17-155

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University