Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Globalizing the Curriculum: MSU Libraries' Special Collections Resources for Middle & High School Teachers: Home

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections is the library's rare book room. We also have strong collections in popular culture. Everyone is welcome to explore and learn in Special Collections!

You do not need to be an MSU student. However, all users age 15 and younger must visit with a parent or guardian. Your parent or guardian must remain present during the research visit.

  • Have your parent or guardian create a free user registration here. They must bring photo ID on the first visit.
  • Search our catalog here or use links on this page for lists of specific genres.
  • Use the GET IT button in the catalog to request material before your visit. We'll have it ready when you arrive!

Two more tips:

African Comics

Cover of the Kenyan comic book "Shujaaz" Cover of a French-language comic book from Cote d'Ivoire

 

If the country you're looking for is not in this list, it means we don't currently have any English-language comic books from that country.

We have many African comic books in French and Portuguese, and a small number in traditional African languages such as Xhosa and Swahili.

To look for comics in a language other than English, do a keyword search for comic books and [name of language].

African Cookbooks

Cover of "The Ghana Cookery Book" Cover of "The Kenya Kitchen Cookbookl"

To find cookbooks from a specific country, search the Special Collections catalog like this:

Search box containing the terms "(cooking or cookbooks) and kenya"

Do include the parentheses around the words (cooking or cookbooks).

If you get too many titles that aren't in English:

  • Click Modify Search at the top of the page.
  • In the Language box, select English.
  • Click Submit.

African Posters

Cover of African National Congress calendar. Anti-apartheid poster with caption "Apartheid Dehumanizes"

We have hundreds of posters from African countries, especially southern Africa. Most are from political campaigns or have public health messages. About 500 of the posters are in English.

You can narrow your results to posters from a specific country by doing a keyword search in the Special Collections catalog like this:

Search box containing the terms "africana posters and botswana"

Note that the search term for the poster collection is africana, not african. The name comes from our Africana Library.

Asian Comics

Cover of a Japanese-language comic book

 

Chinese comic books translated into English

Indian comic books translated into English

Japanese comic books translated into English

Korean comic books translated into English

If the country you're looking for is not in this list, it means we don't currently have any English-language comic books from that country.

We have many Asian comics in their original languages. To look for comics in a language other than English, do a keyword search for comic books and [name of language].

Asian Cookbooks

Cover of "Indonesian Regional Food & Cookery" Cover of "The Food of the Philippines"

To find cookbooks from a specific country, search the Special Collections catalog like this:

Search box containing the terms "(cooking or cookbooks) and korea"

Do include the parentheses around the words (cooking or cookbooks).

If you get too many titles that aren't in English:

  • Click Modify Search at the top of the page.
  • In the Language box, select English.
  • Click Submit.

Japanese Animation

Book cover for "Japanese Animation: From Painted Scrolls to Pokemon" Book cover of Anime Explosion: The What, Why, and Wow of Japanese Animation

We have a great collection on Japanese animation, or manga.

Find English-language books on anime in Special Collections.

Latin American Comics

Cover of Mexican comic book "Kaliman"Cover of Argentine comic book "Fierro"

 

If the country you're looking for is not in this list, it means we don't currently have any English-language comic books from that country.

We have many South American comic books in Spanish and Portuguese. To look for comics in a language other than English, do a keyword search for comic books and [name of language].

Latin American Cookbooks

Cover of "Cocina Argentina" Cover of "O pao na mesa brasileira"

To find cookbooks from a specific country, search the Special Collections catalog like this:

Search box containing the terms "(cooking or cookbooks) and mexico"

Do include the parentheses around the words (cooking or cookbooks).

If you get too many titles that aren't in English:

  • Click Modify Search at the top of the page.
  • In the Language box, select English.
  • Click Submit.

Taller Leñateros

A hand-painted pop-up of a jaguar, in the book Bolom Chon. Decorated case for the book Bolom Chon, with images of a jaguar's pawprints.

We currently have nine works from a small press in Mexico, Taller Leñateros, which is dedicated to preserving Mayan culture.

Many of their works have unusual features like pop-ups or paper sculptures of material objects in Mayan culture.

Their books are generally in Tzotzil, a traditional Mayan language, with translations in Spanish or English.

Michigan State University