Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Health Sciences Image Resources: Lectures & Online Modules

Image Usage Information

This page discusses usage of images in course lectures and presentations, including those that are recorded and posted onto password-protected course websites such as D2L and online modules on D2L and other MSU NetID protected web environments. For information on using images in printed or online coursepacks see the Course Packs page.

For all of the resources listed on this page, there is no extra permission needed or cost involved for using images from these resources. This includes those that are recorded and posted onto password-protected course websites such as D2L or MediaSite. Unless otherwise stated, images may not be modified or altered in any way. Please provide citation information including web links.

If using images in online modules, where possible please create stable links to the images in these resources instead of hosting them. The process to find this link is described for each resource below. Most of these resources assign distinct URLs to their image content and you will find this url after clicking on the image itself.

ClinicalKey Ebooks

Contains over 900 electronic textbooks, including Robbins & Cotran, Nelson's Pediatrics, and the Harriet Lane Handbook, and millions of images.

You may use any ClinicalKey textbook image in lectures and online modules. The permitted books list is only for course packs. Do not use images from journal articles - these will require additional permissions and fees.

08/10/2017: Important changes to making stable links to ClinicalKey images added to this entry.

To find images:

There are two ways to find images.

A. Search for a specific text and find the image within the book itself.

OR

B. Use the search box within the ClinicalKey platform. Searches can be limited to images by selecting Multimedia in the orange drop down menu to the left of the search bar that defaults to All. Or search for a keyword and limit the source type to Images. Hover over the image to see its source.

To download images:

To download images you must sign up for and/or log in to your ClinicalKey account. Use your @msu.edu email as your username and sign up for it while accessing ClinicalKey through the MSU Library link above. ClinicalKey will save all the images to your account and you can go to the "presentations" folder in your account to download a powerpoint of images to your personal desktop.

1. For a single image:

In a book: Click the image you would like to download and either select the "save" or "add to presentation" icon.

From the search results page: Once selected click the "add to presentation" icons at the top right of the results page to download the image to your ClinicalKey account's "presentation" folder.

2. For multiple images:

To select multiple images from the image results page make sure the "Subscribed Content" box is checked. Then select multiple images by clicking on the box in their upper right hand corner. This box will change from transparent to orange when an image is selected.

Once selected click the "add to presentation" icons at the top right of the results page to download the images to your ClinicalKey account's "presentation" folder.

To stable link to the image:

As of August 2017 stable linking to images in Clinical Key does not seem to work. Users are advised to download and embed images in their course content.

Lippincott Books in Books @ Ovid

Over 189 medical books published by Lippincott which are searchable by title and subject.

Please use the following citation on all images: Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved

To find images you may:
1) Click the Multimedia tab in the top horizontal menu bar (beside the Books tab). Search for a term in the search box located under Quick Search or by browsing by subject.
2) Click the Books tab and search by selecting either Quick Search, Title, or Subject. Once you have found a relevant text try searching within the book and selecting the figure after pressing the + sign beside the chapter title.

To download and save images:
1) Click View Figure to download the image to your desktop, noting the figure number, book chapter and title information.

To Stable Link to Images:

1. Find an image

2. Click "view figure" and use the browser URL. It will be very long but should include proxy1.cl.msu.edu or proxy2.cl.msu.edu to work properly.

Example: Figure 5.1 Low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (mild dysplasia, CIN 1). Section I: General Principles - 5. Pathology In Berek & Hacker's Gynecologic Oncology. Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved. Retrieved from: http://ovidsp.tx.ovid.com.proxy1.cl.msu.edu/sp-3.20.0b/ovidweb.cgi?S=MAENFPOKEFDDMLKPNCIKKAJCDJKEAA00;Book+Image=bookdb|/CT{06b9ee1beed59419ba6ddb6a4dd46b162b32c5dc68b834939821d5f3cac225738d8d78af36e68a1f62c21a161faf2271}/ID%28F1-5%29

LWW Health Libraries

To find images you may:
1. Search for a keyword in the main search box. On the results pages scroll down and select "image" as the content type - found under Media in the left-side menu. You can narrow further by subject or specific title in the same menu.

2. Search within a specific text by choosing the texts button on the homepage followed by narrowing it to subject and selecting an individual book and then choosing images in the left-side menu under the link to the textbook's table of contents. From there you can choose a chapter to view all the images within it.

To download and save images you have two options:
1) Click View Original and the image will open in a new browser tab/page, right click, and select Save Image As or Save Picture As. The figure caption and citation information do not appear in saved images, so make sure to note where an image came from when downloading them to your computer.

2) Click Slide (.ppt), the image will open as a PowerPoint slide with all of the image attributes including the title of the chapter; the name of the textbook, its edition and publication date; and a copyright statement.

Please use the following citation on all images: Copyright © Lippincott Williams & Wilkins - All Rights Reserved

To stable link to an image:

1. find an image either through an image search or within a text, click the image and select "view original"

2. A new dialog box will open, use the URL in the browser as the stable link. Make sure either proxy1.cl.msu.edu or proxy2.cl.msu.edu is included in the URL.

Example: Fig 1.1. Thoracic Skeleton. Chapter 1: Thorax In Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy. 2014, Williams & Wilkins. Retrieved from: http://meded.lwwhealthlibrary.com.proxy1.cl.msu.edu/data/Books/739/Moore-ch001-image001.gif

McGraw-Hill Ebooks

In any of the Access databases you can search for images by clicking on the Multimedia tab in the horizontal menu bar and selecting Images. You can also do a keyword search in the main search bar and limit to images by selecting the Images filter in the search results page near the bottom of the left hand menu column.

To stable link to an image:

A. Find an image

B. click view full size, and then use the URL in the browser window as the stable link. Make sure it includes either proxy1.cl.msu.edu or proxy2.cl.msu.edu in the URL.

Example: Fig. 4-1, Median Life Expectancy Of Older Men and Women. Chapter 4: Geriatric Medicine In Current Diagnosis & Treatment 2016. Retrieved from: http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com.proxy2.cl.msu.edu/ViewLarge.aspx?figid=103069305&gbosContainerID=0&gbosID=0

Thieme Teaching Assisstant

The Guide to Using Thieme Images (PDF) is available as a quick introduction to downloading and managing images in Thieme.

Please note - Content, figure titles, or legends may be removed from images, but the copyright notices must remain intact. Original content may be added to an image, but the addition of third-party copyrighted material is not allowed. Content added to the images becomes the property of Thieme.

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy

The anatomy collection features all images from the Gilroy, et al. Atlas of Anatomy, as well as additional illustrations and clinical images from Head and Neck Anatomy for Dental Medicine.

Please use the following citation on all images: Gilroy et al., Atlas of Anatomy.  All rights reserved. © Thieme 2016. www.thieme.com 

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Pharmacology

The pharmacology collection features all images from Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review by Mark A. Simmons.

Please use the following citation on all images: Pharmacology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

Thieme Teaching Assistant: Physiology

This physiology collection features all images from Michael, et al. Fundamentals of Medical Physiology - a concise, in-depth introduction by organ system to the principles of body function.

Please use the following citation on all images: Fundamentals of Medical Physiology and Physiology: An Illustrated Review. All rights reserved. © Thieme 2012. www.thieme.com

To stable link to an image:

1. Find an image

2. Click on the image, note down the Figure Information and use the link in the browser's address bar as the stable link. It must include either proxy1.cl.msu.edu or proxy2.cl.msu.edu to be effective.

For example: Fig. 21.21 A. Posterior muscles of the shoulder and arm, Superficial dissection. Right side, posterior view. Illustrator: Karl Wesker From: Atlas of Anatomy, 2nd ed. c. Thieme 2016. Retrieved from: http://www.thiemeteachingassistant.com.proxy2.cl.msu.edu/Home/Illustration/52109/21283

Visual DX

Visual Dx is a web-based clinical decision support system designed to aid in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induce conditions, and other injuries. Covers more than 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions represented by nearly 30,000 images.

Note: Images can be added to course materials by opening an image in full-page view, press print screen (PrtScr) on your keyboard, and paste the screen capture into your document. The Logical Images copyright watermark must be visible and intact.

Please use the following citation on all images: Image source: Visual Dx (www.visualdx.com).

Health Sciences Librarians

Michigan State University