Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 255, Javier Pescador: Getting Started

Getting started with print and ebook collections

Requesting materials from other libraries:

  • Uborrow. For everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of 13 major Midwestern research libraries.
  • Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
  • WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link.

Getting started with secondary sources (articles)

Getting Started with Primary Sources

ProQuest American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals

American History, 1493-1945

This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.

America's Historical Imprints

Collected and catalogued by one of the world’s leading historical societies, the 25,000-plus short works in this new online resource represent an extensive, yet under-researched, record of American history, society, culture and contemporary life.

For Michigan and Detroit newspapers consult this guide: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/MichiganHistNews

 

There is a wealth of film press books and posters in Special Collections.Try a keyword search for "press books" combined with the film title you are interested in (and try limiting that search to Special Collections). Or try subject searching the Library catalog for

Especially a subject search for MOTION PICTURE PROGRAMS, but also could try:

"film posters"  

"advertising--motion pictures". 

There is also a microfilm collection (on 2W) called Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studio Collections. You'll have to first see if your film(s) of interest is in the set by using this index: http://catalog.lib.msu.edu/record=b9351030~S39a . Once you find which reel you need you can load the microfilm into a reader (there is help with this at the Copy Center) and then make PDF copies and scans.

See also a collection of Latinos in Film (Pressbooks)

At the bottom of the Michigan section of this research guide  is a box that says Historical Maps. You can browse all of these resources, but probably the most useful is the collection of Sandborn Maps .

Within the same guide also browse through some of the other historical map collections.

If you are interested in making Detroit maps you can contact GIS Librarian, Amanda Tickner.

 

Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text of the following historical newspapers: CHICAGO TRIBUNE (1849-1988, DETROIT FREE PRESS (1831-1922), LOS ANGELES TIMES (1881-1988), LOUISVILLE COURIER JOURNAL (1830-1922), NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN (1812-1922), NEW YORK TIMES (1851-2008), WALL STREET JOURNAL (1889-1994), WASHINGTON POST (1877-1995). It also includes historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

America's Historical Newspapers

Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states. Chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

This database is composed of approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, including many published in what were, at the time, only territories

Represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century

This resource includes digitized manuscript collections and rare books from the American Jewish Historical Society

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection

Featuring more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states—including many rare 19th-century titles—this online collection provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history.With an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent

For historical reviews of films use Proquest Historical Newspapers . Do an advanced search by putting in the film title and limiting to document type: Reviews.

For articles from popular magazines and trade publications try The Reader's Guide to Popular Literature.

See Librarian Terrie Wilson's guide to finding materials on architecture: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/c.php?g=95366 .

See American History in Video for a full compliment of newsreels on American History (over 3,000 from Universal Newsreals).

For more streaming film of all kinds try Academic Video Online.

Many photos of Detroit area movie houses are in The Virtual Motor City. Largely the VMC is digitized photos from the Detroit News historical collection.

Loading

Michael Rodriguez

Getting started with reference sources

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University