Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 110, Vanessa Holden: Getting Started

Getting started with print and ebook collections

Requesting materials from other libraries:

  • Uborrow. For everything except articles. Searches the catalogs of 13 major Midwestern research libraries.
  • Illiad For articles, books,videos, dissertations, etc.
  • WorldCat (OCLC) For everything except articles. WorldCat contains more than 1 billion records describing items owned by over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Each record indicates library holdings and contains a "Request this item in ILLiad" link.

Getting started with secondary sources (articles)

America History and Life

Provides access to articles, book reviews, and dissertations in American and Canadian history.


Searchable database of the full text of journals in multiple fields.

Getting Started with Primary Sources

ProQuest American Periodicals

This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals

American History, 1493-1945

This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.

America's Historical Imprints

Collected and catalogued by one of the world’s leading historical societies, the 25,000-plus short works in this new online resource represent an extensive, yet under-researched, record of American history, society, culture and contemporary life.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

This database takes the works currently captured from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online

SiRO (Studies in Radicalism Online)

SiRO is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of resources for the study of radicalism and the digital research environment.

American Radical Digital Collection (MSU)

The American Radicalism Digital Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States. There are additional print items in Special Collections.

Radicalism Artifacts in Special Collections

An online guide to artifacts (from printed material to clothing and campaign buttons, among other things) associated with radicalism at MSUL's Special Collections

Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920

From the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library. This collection is an unparalleled resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, this database includes more than 25,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history

"Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement"

A collection featuring transcribed texts and scanned images of over 40 articles, pamphlets, flyers, and booklets published from 1969 to 1974 which reflect the diversity of theory and activities characterizing the early years of the U.S. Women's Liberation Movement.

Archives Unbound

Includes collections, such as The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle, Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman, Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984, "We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death": Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (among many others)

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Black Abolitionist Archive

The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement

Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice, 1490-2007

Documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922

This digital edition of the American Antiquarian Society’s extraordinary holdings of slavery and abolition materials delivers more than 3,500 works published over the course of more than 100 years.


Proquest Historical Newspapers

This resource includes the full text of the following historical newspapers: CHICAGO TRIBUNE (1849-1988, DETROIT FREE PRESS (1831-1922), LOS ANGELES TIMES (1881-1988), LOUISVILLE COURIER JOURNAL (1830-1922), NASHVILLE TENNESSEAN (1812-1922), NEW YORK TIMES (1851-2008), WALL STREET JOURNAL (1889-1994), WASHINGTON POST (1877-1995). It also includes historical black newspapers: ATLANTA DAILY WORLD (1931-2003),CHICAGO DEFENDER (1910-1975),LOS ANGELES SENTINAL (1934-2005) NEW AMSTERDAM NEWS (1922-1993), and the PITTSBURGH COURRIER (1911-2002).

America's Historical Newspapers

Search and browse American newspapers published across three centuries. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states. Chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

This database is composed of approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900. It includes titles from throughout the United States, including many published in what were, at the time, only territories

Represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century

This resource includes digitized manuscript collections and rare books from the American Jewish Historical Society

Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection

Featuring more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states—including many rare 19th-century titles—this online collection provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history.With an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent

American Memory (Library of Congress)

Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

New York Public Library Digital Collections

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more


Michael Rodriguez

Getting started with reference sources

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit:
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University