This is the "Industry Trends & Analysis" page of the "Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Industry Research  

Last Updated: Dec 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/industryresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Industry Trends & Analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 

Industrial Classification (SIC and NAICS codes)

When researching industry information, it is helpful to find the NAICS or SIC code for that industry, though all the industry databases also allow a keyword search.  The federal government assigns these codes to business segments for data collection and reporting purposes.  NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes were adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system.  Many research resources, such as databases, utilize NAICS and/or SIC codes for searching purposes.  You can search many of the library databases by NAICS and/or SIC code to get industry information.

Example 1:  if you want to study the ice cream manufacturing industry, you would look up the 2007 NAICS code from the link, below, and note that it is 311520

Industry Trends & Analysis

These resources give solid overviews of industries, with current trends and analysis. These resources will help you answer the questions: What is the current value of the industry? Is the industry growing? What are the major companies/competitors in the industry and what is their market share? What are some barriers to entry or threats to the industry? Market size, share and segmentation data plus detailed analysis and company information are included.

  • Mintel Oxygen Reports
    **It is necessary to create a personal account using your MSU email address to access this resource.**
    Contains full-text market research reports covering global consumer markets, with an emphasis on U.S. and European markets. Analyzes market share, segmentation, trends, and consumer demographics.
  • IBISWorld
    Offers key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, with coverage down to the seven-digit NAICS code, along with in-depth analysis for over 70 global industries and 200 industries in China and Canada. Includes life cycle analysis, barriers to entry, market share, and basis of competition.
  • MarketLine Advantage (Formerly known as Datamonitor 360)
    ***New Interface and name.*** Contains over 30,000 companies, 3,500 industry profiles, over 110 country profiles, over 50,000 financial deals reports along with over 60,000 news articles, and over 2,500 company SWOT analyses. They also have case studies. Industry profiles include Porter's Five Forces.
  • Freedonia Focus
    Freedonia Focus reports provide insights and industry outlook for over eighteen industry categories including automotive, chemicals, industrial components, metals, energy, plastics, electronics, and more. **We have a one year trial of additional international industry reports.**
  • GBI Research
    ***No longer available as of May 2014. Please use Freedonia Focus and Frost & Sullivan***
  • Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)(via Euromonitor)
    Provides a wealth of key business data on countries, companies, markets and consumers. Includes country statistics, market data, lifestyle indicators and analysis, market analysis, company profiles, country profiles, SWOT analyses, and much more.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    ***Faculty can have access to the PDFs of the reports but must contact a Business Librarian to request access.*** Provides research in market analysis, technical reports, end-user studies, and quantitative measurement based reports. It covers the following industries: Healthcare; Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials & Food; Energy & Power Systems; Environment & Building Technologies; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation; Automatic Identification & Security; and Manufacturing Excellence.
  • ISI Emerging Markets EMIS
    Provides news, industry information, and company and financial data direct from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.
  • Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
    Faulkner's Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)includes more than 1200 reports on IT infrastructure, telecommunications, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, application development, the Internet, technology vendors and more. Report types include tutorials, IT directories, product standards, software selection and implementation guides, company profiles, and marketplace overviews.
  • Gartner
    Gartner provides time-critical information through direct access to top IT industry analysts combined with immediate access to market intelligence data and relevant product information.
 

Ask a Business Librarian

Gast Business Library

Gast Business Library
Michigan State University
Law College Building
648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50
East Lansing, MI  48824-1300
(517) 355-3380

Ask a Business Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip