United Nations Regional Commissions
- Economic
Commission for Africa (ECA)
- Economic Commission
for Europe (ECE)
- Economic Commission
for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
- Economic and
Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
- Economic and
Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)
African Development Bank (AfDB)
- The African Development Bank website has a
large amount of good information available.
Basic Documents of African Regional Organizations. (Main Library Reference JX1582 .A2 S64). Chapter II contains the texts of selected Bank materials.
African Development Report. (Int'l Docs 3 West HC800 .A1 A37 1990-present) Selected reports, including 2004 are available online as well.
Report by the Boards of Directors of the African Development Bank African Development Fund Covering the Period from 1st January to 31st December . . . . (Main HG3729 .A36 A4) 1972-1999
Asia-Pacific
Economic Cooperation (APEC)
- APEC's website has information about the group, its history and current activities, plus access to electronic publications. Leaders' Declarations back to 1993 and Ministerial Statements back to 1989 are also included. APEC, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation. (Int'l Docs, 3 West. HF1538 .A85 1995 ) Selected APEC Documents. (Int'l. Docs. 3 West HC411.A753 annual, 1989-1999; also available online. The APEC Publications List contains both publications for sale as well as over 300 free publications that may be downloaded.
Association of
South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)
- Overview of ASEAN.
(Gov. Docs. Index/Ref, 1st floor East, ASEAN A849is 4; also at the ASEAN
website)
Annual Report of the ASEAN Standing Committee. (Int'l. Docs. 3 West HC441.A1 A69; also online back to 1981.)
ASEAN Document Series. 1967-1988 (Int'l. Docs. 3 West DS526.7 .A8 1988; also online up through the present.)
Contains the texts of basic agreements, joint communiques and press releases, resolutions, and declarations.
ASEAN Economic Bulletin. (Main HC441 .A1 A72) Electronic through Proquest (MSU only) Issued 3x/year, most issues of the the Bulletin contain key documents in a separate documentation section. The cumulated index to volumes 1-10 (1984-1994) contains an alphabetical listing of all documents included.
Basic Documents of Asian Regional Organizations. (Main Library Reference JX1569 .A2 H33) Chapter IX contains the texts of selected ASEAN materials.
ASEAN Ministerial Meeting and Post-Ministerial Meeting with the Dialogue Partners. (Int'l. Docs. 3 West DS520 .A86; 1994- Also available online back to 1997)
Speeches of the Secretary General: online back to 2003.
- European Conventions and Agreements. (Int'l.
Docs. JN94.A58 C68 1993; also available online) This multi-volume set
contains the texts of international treaties concluded within the
Council of Europe up to 1998.
Activities of the Council of Europe . . . Report. (Gov. Docs. CE A188)
This annual report includes an overview of the Council's activities, an organizational chart, budgetary information, lists of Texts Adopted by the Committee of Ministers and the Parliamentary Assembly, and lists of cases brought before the Commission and Court of Human Rights.
European Yearbook. (Gov. Docs. Index/Ref, 1st floor East, CE A613y) The Yearbook provides a good overview of the activities in European international organizations including, but not limited to, the Council of Europe, European Community, and the Western European Union. It also includes articles written by officials and civil servants in the various governments and organizations.
Parliamentary Assembly: Procedure and Practice. (Gov. Docs. CE C758a P963p 1990)
Official Report of Debates. (Gov. Docs. CE C758a sess./pt. O.R. sit.#; recent session(s) available online back to 2000.)
Verbatim record of speeches made at each sitting of the Parliamentary Assembly. There are subject and speaker indexes at the end of each part of each session.
Documents: Working Papers. (Int'l Docs. JN22 .A35; online is a searchable database with documents going back to 1949.
Contains all documents submitted to the Assembly by the Committee of Ministers, the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, international organizations, members and committees of the Assembly. This includes the agenda of Assembly sessions, motions for resolutions, recommendations and orders, written questions tabled by Representatives, reports of the committees and any amendments that have been tabled, and statutory reports from the Committee of Ministers to the Assembly.
There is a numerical list of documents at the front of each part of each session, a subject index and classified index at the back. Texts Adopted by the Assembly. (Int'l. Docs. JN22 .A43; also online)
Opinions, recommendations, resolutions and orders adopted by the Assembly. Print ceased in 1998, online version has documents back to 1949.
Orders of the Day: Minutes of Proceedings. (Int'l. Docs. JN22 .A3;) Contains the Order of Business (the session's agenda with annotations giving the identification number of relevant documents) and the minutes of each sitting of the Assembly. Orders ceased in 2004 and are somewhat replaced by Resolutions, which are found in Adopted Texts. Committee of Ministers: Public Texts
Includes basic texts, rules, procedures, adopted texts, documents and working papers. Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of Europe [texts, reports, draft texts]
European Union
Official portal to the European Union with news and information about
its activities, institutions, policies and programs.
See also:
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
Organization for Economic Cooperation and
Development (OECD)
Thirty-member organization that "brings together the governments of
countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the
world."
OECD Members and their dates of ratification are online
- SourceOECD
SourceOECD includes three parts: SourceOECD Books, SourceOECD Periodicals, and SourceOECD Statistics.
Organization for Security and Cooperation
in Europe (OSCE)
Organization of African
Unity/African Union (OAU)
Organization of American States (OAS)
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting
Countries (OPEC)
The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries is an
international Organization made up of eleven oil producing nations.
A list of members and a short history of OPEC can be found online.
International Governmental Organizations (IGOs): Guide by Organization

Loading...
