Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Relations: Home

Covers international law, institutions, theory of international relations, foreign policy, international political economy, environment, human rights, food security, national security.

Other Research Guides to IR

George Washington University Library

San Diego State University Library

Yale University Library

InternationalRelations.org is dedicated to explaining international relations and all of its facets, and to showing students, scholars, as well as policymakers and practitioners what international relations is all about. This site will help students of the field better understand what is international relations through rich discussion, and the site offers hundreds of articles related to the overall topic of global affairs on this website.

Useful Websites

American Society of International Law - ASIL's mission is to foster the study of international law and to promote the establishment and maintenance of international relations on the basis of law and justice.  Be sure to check out the Resources/Publications tab which will lead you to a Electronic Resources Guide

Center for Security Studies - open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe

International Studies Association - Produce an International Studies Encyclopedia

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources - very broad coverage of all things international

Background References

American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature   Reference E183.7 .A52 2003 : Two-volume set published by the Society of Historians for American Foreign Relations. Provides excellent annotated bibliographies for major events in American foreign relations.

Background Notes. Covers all the countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Each report contains info on bilateral relations with the U.S., travel, and business. There are also additional useful links, including a link to the CIA World Factbook entry for each country. These reports are updated periodically.

BBC News Country Profiles.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports. Background reports covering economic, political, and social conditions of countries. Note profiles were last done in 2008.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy. 2002 collection of scholarly essays on U.S. foreign policy history, theory, and practice.  (Also available Online)

Europa World Year Book.  Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations.  Reference JZ1160 .N65 2002; 4 volumes  (M-R, volume 3, available Online)

International Relations: A Concise Companion   Main Library Stacks JZ1161 .W45 2002 : Short guide to basic international relations terminology.

International relations : the key concepts / Martin Griffiths, Terry O'Callaghan and Steven C. Roach.  Main Library Stacks JZ1160 .G75 2014 : Now in its third edition, International Relations: The Key Concepts, remains an important resource for anyone interested in international politics. Comprehensive and relevant, it has been fully revised to reflect the most important themes and issues in international relations in the post-9/11 era. Featuring new entries on:

• The Arab Spring

• Responsibility to Protect

• Governmentality

• Postcolonialism

• Neoliberalism

• Global Financial Crisis

With suggestions for further reading and a useful guide to websites, International Relations: The Key Concepts is an ideal aid for students and newcomers to the field of International Relations.

The Oxford companion to international relations / Joel Krieger, editor in chief.  2 vols.  Main Library Stacks JZ1242 .O92 2014 : International Relations has long been a core discipline within Political Science, one of vast importance for understanding social, cultural, economic and political exchanges across national boundaries. Every dimension of human experience falls within the scope of the field, making it applicable to psychologists, historians, anthropologists, and others across a wide swath of academia. The two-volume Oxford Companion to International Relations would be one of the first reference works to make this field clear and comprehensible to both specialists and non-specialists. Entries are mostly thematic in content, rather than site-specific, permitting the work to have value and currency for years to come. The numerous theories and applications of IR are comprehensively covered, as would controversies related to the field, prominent figures, and ways IR has shaped political history. There are revised & updated entries derived from the Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, while the rest would be newly commissioned and authored by the foremost IR scholars around the world. New entries cover institutional developments (for instance, the creation and operation of the International Criminal Court, the governance of the Internet, and the various changes in the international monetary architecture since the beginning of the economic crisis); significant events that were not covered in the older volume (the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, the challenges facing new democratic regimes in Eastern Europe and Africa); and advances in IR scholarship, especially in the fields of terrorism and international security. Fifteen interpretive essays are interspersed throughout the A-Z text, encouraging further scholarship and dialogue between readers.  Also available online.

Oxford Handbook of International Relations  Main Library Stacks JZ1242 .O94 2008 : Offers the most authoritative and comprehensive overview to date of the field of international relations. Arguably the most impressive collection of international relations scholars ever brought together within one volume, the Handbook debates the nature of the field itself, critically engages with the major theories, surveys a wide spectrum of methods, addresses the relationship between scholarship and policy making, and examines the field's relation with cognate disciplines. The Handbook takes as its central themes the interaction between empirical and normative inquiry that permeates all theorizing in the field and the way in which contending approaches have shaped one another. In doing so, it provides an authoritative and critical introduction to the subject and establishes a sense of the field as a dynamic realm of argument and inquiry. The Oxford Handbook of International Relations will be essential reading for all of those interested in the advanced study of global politics and international affairs.

Political Handbook of the World (part of the CQ Press political reference suite).   A collection of comprehensive country profiles chronicling each nation's political history, government, leadership, elections, and political parties that includes profiles of intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

Political Risk Yearbooks.  100 country specific profiles of current political, economic and social forces.  Courtesy of Business Source Complete.

Statesman's Yearbook JA51 .S7 (Latest edition available in Closed Reference Cabinet; earlier volumes in Main Library Stacks) - Statistical and historical annual of the states of the world.

World Factbook CIA compiled information on the countries of the world

Finding Journal Articles

Political Science Complete. Provides full text for over 500 publications, and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 1995 journals. The database also features more than 189 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 27,000 full text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Indexes and selectively publishes post-1990 scholarship and reports on international affairs. Provides full-text access to relevant Columbia University Press titles and many recent journals, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings. CIAO also has links to international affairs centers, institutes, and other resources; U.S., international, and foreign government sites; environmental studies web pages; and news media services.

PolicyFile - database of research and policy briefs from hundreds of think tanks (mostly U.S. based) that address policy issues, both foreign and domestic.

Subject Guide

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University