Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201: Islam in Modern Europe (Van Wyck): Primary Source Collections

Newspapers

Telegraph Historical Archive 1855-2000 Politically conservative. One of the world's highest circulating newspapers in the English language.  Includes also the Sunday issues from 1961-2000.  The BBC describes it as "the newspaper of the establishment." 

Daily Mail Historical Archive 1896-2004. Progressive newspaper for ordinary, busy people

Manchester Guardian 1821-1959 Read by people on the mainstream left.

Guardian 1959-2003 Successor title of Manchester Guardian. Same readership.

Irish Times 1859-2012  Politically liberal and progressive.

Observer (London) 1901-2003  Similar to Guardian in outlook. 

 

Museum, Oral History and Other Online Collections

Vincent Voice Library

Contained within the MSU Libraries is the G. Robert Vincent Voice Library.  It is a collection of over 40,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888. The collection includes the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life. Political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured and cataloged to serve the research needs of a local, national and international user base.  Do a search for your topic in the MSU Libraries online catalog.  Modify your search by the location MSU Vincent Voice Library, 4th floor West to see if we have anything on your topic.

Government Documents

MSU Libraries' Special Collections

MSU Libraries' Special Collections contains our own special, unique and rare materials.  Our Radicalism and Comic Art collections might be useful.  Try a library catalog keyword search: (islam* or moslem* or muslim*) and (europe* or france or french or english or british) and confine your results to the location MSU Special Collections. Request items three days in advance via the Get It button in the library catalog.

Periodicals as Primary Sources

Maps

Michigan State University