Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201: Islam in Modern Europe (Van Wyck): Reference & Bibliographies

Bibliographies

Cambridge Histories Online

General Reference

Reference/Background Info

Encyclopedia of Migration and Minorities in Europe Reference JV 7590 .E4913 2011

Organized by country and then specific articles by group. See articles beginning with: Algerian (in France), Egyptian (in France), Greek Orthodox and Muslim Refugees (in Greece and Turkey), Iranian Refugees (in Netherlands), Kurdish Refugees (in Germany), Maghrebis (in France), Moluccans [includes Muslims] (in Netherlands), Moroccan Labor Migrants (in Great Britain), Moroccan Undocumented Immigrants (in Spain), Muslim Brotherhoods [Sufi orders] (in Southeastern Europe), Pakistanis (in Great Britain); Turkish Labor Migrants (in Western, Central, and Northern Europe).

Encyclopedia of European Social History Reference HN 373 .E63 2001 6 v.

v. 1 has two articles: immigration and racism.  There are also articles on countries.  Further reading references.  V.3 has articles on social problems.  Index to set in v. 6

European Immigration, a Sourcebook Main JV 7590 .E946 2014

Has chapters on different countries with further reading references

Europe Since 1945, an Encyclopedia Reference D 1051 .E876 2001 v. 1-2

v. 2 has an article Muslims in Europe.  Further reading references

Oxford Companion to Black British History Main DA 125 .N4 O94 2007

Has entries on Islam, Racism, Black Muslims. A few further reading references

Historical Dictionary of the British Empire Main DA 16 .P315 2015

Has articles on Commonwealth Immigration to the U.K., United Kingdom Immigration Legislation

Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought Reference DC 33.7 .C575 2006

Articles on anticolonialism, immigration and the nation, Islam, multiculturalism.  Further reading references.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture Main DC 33.7 .E53 1998

Has a number of articles on/related to the beurs (immigrants from North Africa), on Islam, on racism/anti-Semitism

Historical Dictionary of the French Fourth and Fifth Republics, 1946-1991 Main DC 401 .H57 1992

Articles on immigrants, minorities, problems of, population trends.

Contact the Librarians

Agnes Haigh Widder, Humanities Bibliographer, A.M.L.S., M.A. (British History/Studies, France, Medieval and Renaissance/Early Modern Studies, Religious Studies)
Michigan State University Libraries
366 W. Circle Dr. E 208A, Mail Stop 21
East Lansing, MI 48824-1048
widder@lib.msu.edu
phone: (517) 884-6394

Deborah Margolis, (Middle East Studies, Jewish Studies, Muslim Studies, Anthropology)

Michigan State University Libraries
366 W. Circle Dr. E 221
East Lansing, MI 48824-1048
deborahm@lib.msu.edu
phone: (517) 884-0892
 

Michigan State University